[Solved] iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

Discussions and Tech Support related to the iMacros Firefox Add-on.

Moderator: iMacros Moderators

Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the Google search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed. This will search the entire contents of the forums as well as the iMacros Wiki.
3. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information:

CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST

Answering your own posts (e.g. attempting to "bump" your topic) drops your topic from the list of unanswered threads, so it may actually receive less views.

[Solved] iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by PeTiT_ITA on Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:40 am

Hi All from Italy!

First of all: compliments for this wonderful tool.


Since this morning is available a new version for FF (3.0.1).
After installing it, FF altert me that iMacros (6.0.5.4) is not compatible... (and obviously macros don't work). :(



Any idea?

Many thanks.
Regards!
User avatar
PeTiT_ITA
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:34 am

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by tampe125 on Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:29 am

i can confirm the issue.

P.S. ciao compatriota :P
tampe125
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:27 pm

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by johnl on Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:20 pm

Yes, This is a real problem. I use iMacros for all my web development testing but can't upgrade to FF 3.0.1. Support, can you provide a possible date for a fix?

thanks,
johnl
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by Kit on Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:39 am

To get around the issue:

Download the imacros.xpi file (right-click and save-link-as)
Using 7-zip, or similar, open but NOT extract the xpi file.
Edit install.rdf and change the line:
<em:maxVersion>3.0</em:maxVersion> to <em:maxVersion>4.0</em:maxVersion>
Save and update archive.
Then in Firefox open the xpi file and install add-on.
Kit
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:57 pm

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by PeTiT_ITA on Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:40 am

It works!!


Thanks Kit... you're a lifesaver!!


Bye all!
User avatar
PeTiT_ITA
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:34 am

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by themainliner on Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:53 am

I tried the above fix and still failed to get the addon to install.

Any other suggestions and we get an 'official' fix?
User avatar
themainliner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:50 am

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by ZenMasta on Fri Jul 18, 2008 3:22 pm

can you revert back to 3.0? This is one reason I turn off automatic updates for firefox.
ZenMasta
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:06 am

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by Tech Support on Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:31 pm

Thanks for reporting the issue and the workarounds! An updated version of iMacros will be available next week.
User avatar
Tech Support
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:25 pm

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by webstar on Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:46 am

I'm only using a beta version of FF3 (because of a stupid and very annoying bug in the main version that is not in the beta version)
but...
Try this easy fix that usually works very well:

Install the "MR Tech Toolkit" add-on
and go to Options of this add-on, click "Miscelaneous" and then select the "XPI install options" tab
and uncheck "Enable addons compatibility checking".

That's it!
webstar
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 9:33 am

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by Tech Support on Tue Jul 22, 2008 9:22 am

Update: The issue is solved in iMacros V6.0.6.2. You can download it from http://wiki.imacros.net/iMacros_for_Fir ... on_History
User avatar
Tech Support
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:25 pm

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by webstar on Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:35 am

I'm sorry, but this version too is
TOTALLY BROKEN!

Absolutely nothing works with this version.
Not even the simplest basic stuff like opening a new tab and opening an URL in that tab...

p.s.
I did download the newest version (BUILD=6060722)
and was hoping that it fixes the problem.
Last edited by webstar on Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
webstar
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 9:33 am

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by webstar on Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:41 am

SyntaxError unknown command:
c, macro line 7


And here is the beginning of the corresponding macro:
Code: Select all
CLEAR
TAB T=1
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
URL GOTO=http://domain.com
CLEAR
TAB OPEN
TAB T=2
URL GOTO=http://gmail.com
URL GOTO=http://mail.google.com/mail/signup
TAB OPEN
TAB T=3
...
...


So, the line 7 says just "TAB T=2".
webstar
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 9:33 am

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by Tech Support on Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:50 am

I can not recreate the error. I tested with this macro and it works fine:
Code: Select all
CLEAR
TAB T=1
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
URL GOTO=http://iopus.com
CLEAR
TAB OPEN
TAB T=2
URL GOTO=http://gmail.com
URL GOTO=http://mail.google.com/mail/signup
TAB OPEN
TAB T=3

Does this macro work for you, too? As another test, do the demo macros work on your machine?
User avatar
Tech Support
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:25 pm

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by webstar on Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:58 pm

Tech Support wrote:I can not recreate the error. I tested with this macro and it works fine:
Code: Select all
CLEAR
TAB T=1
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
URL GOTO=http://iopus.com
CLEAR
TAB OPEN
TAB T=2
URL GOTO=http://gmail.com
URL GOTO=http://mail.google.com/mail/signup
TAB OPEN
TAB T=3

Does this macro work for you, too?

Yes! running this very same macro standalone (not through javascript as my original)
gives the exact same error and behavior:
SyntaxError: unknown command: c, macro line 7

After opening the first website in the first tab,
it opens a second tab (Untitled) and that's it.
it stops with the error.
using Firefox 3 Beta 5, which is almost exactly the same as the FF 3.0 final.
(except a very annoying bug which is in FF 3.0 and also in 3.1 but is not in FF3Beta5)
Installed Add-ons on that machine:
Only these 5:
Cookie Manager Button
External IP
Gmail Manager
NoScript
+ iMacros.


As another test, do the demo macros work on your machine?

Running the first demo macro that has been installed with the add-on (Demo-ArchivePage.iim)
gives this error:
BadParameter: iMacros for Firefox supports only CPL|HTM|TXT|EXTRACT SAVEAS types, macro line 9


Running the Self-Test.js gives:
RuntimeError: element INPUT specified by NAME:T1 was not found, macro line 7

the rest seems to be OK:
Self-Test Report

Demo-FillForm: OK
Demo-Frame: OK
Demo-Filter: OK
Demo-Tabs: unknown error
Demo-Javascript-Dialogs: OK
Demo-SlideShow: OK
Demo-TagPosition: OK
Demo-Download: OK
Demo-SaveAs: OK
Demo-SavePDF: OK
Demo-Stopwatch: OK
Demo-ExtractAndFill: OK
Demo-Extract: OK, Extract: This line is extracted.
The second line is extracted, too.
Demo-ExtractURL: OK, Extract: http://www.iopus.com/imacros/help/index ... ems.htm%20
Demo-ExtractRelative: OK, Extract: 2
webstar
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 9:33 am

Re: iMacros not compatible with FF 3.0.1

by Tech Support on Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:30 pm

Thanks for the detailed testing.

1. I was able to recreate the demo-archive issue. It is actually a bug in the demo macro as the "MHT" file type is not supported by Firefox. This line works:
SAVEAS TYPE=CPL FOLDER=* FILE={{!VAR1}}

2. I still can not see the "unknown command: c, macro line 7" error. Can you please retest with Firefox 3.01 or Firefox 2.0.16 (maybe on another machine)? Are you using Windows, Mac or Linux?

3. Please run the "Demo-Tabs" macro again. Does it work? (The log above reports "Demo-Tabs: unknown error" that is why I ask. Plus, that macro is most similar to your macro.)
User avatar
Tech Support
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:25 pm

Next

Return to iMacros for Firefox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Website Monitoring