How can I share test results?

Support for iMacros. The iMacros software is the unique solution for automating every activity inside a web browser, for data extraction and web testing.

Moderators: Community Moderators, iMacros Moderators

Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the Google search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed. This will search the entire contents of the forums as well as the iMacros Wiki.
3. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information:

CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST

Answering your own posts (e.g. attempting to "bump" your topic) drops your topic from the list of unanswered threads, so it may actually receive less views.

How can I share test results?

by BudHerz on Tue Mar 15, 2016 5:07 pm

Ok, trying this again. My first attempt was too confusing I guess.

Hello all,

Where can I create results from the tests?

Scenario:
I run a test and if it's successful, iMacros tells me it passed or failed.

My need:
A report of that pass/fail outcome to share with the client or management.
- The report would show pass/fail results of each step in the test
- The report would show time taken to execute test

Aggregated together, multiple reports would show me the trends of all testing
- Are more failing than passing?
- How many are we executing per time intervals (hourly, daily, weekly)

Currently, I use ExtentX - http://extentx.herokuapp.com/ for our Selenium Webdriver testing and hoped to find something like it for iMacros.

Why is reporting in iMacros so hard to find?
BudHerz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:02 am

Re: How can I share test results?

by chivracq on Tue Mar 15, 2016 5:44 pm

BudHerz wrote:Ok, trying this again. My first attempt was too confusing I guess.

Hello all,

Where can I create results from the tests?

Scenario:
I run a test and if it's successful, iMacros tells me it passed or failed.

My need:
A report of that pass/fail outcome to share with the client or management.
- The report would show pass/fail results of each step in the test
- The report would show time taken to execute test

Aggregated together, multiple reports would show me the trends of all testing
- Are more failing than passing?
- How many are we executing per time intervals (hourly, daily, weekly)

Currently, I use ExtentX - http://extentx.herokuapp.com/ for our Selenium Webdriver testing and hoped to find something like it for iMacros.

Why is reporting in iMacros so hard to find?

Sorry, CIM, I don't read, mention it on the first Line if you haven't installed iMacros yet and are looking for some Pre-Sales Info...!
But you shouldn't be thinking about "Sharing Test Results" yet if that was the case... :roll:
How can you be thinking about sharing your Test Results if you can't even share your Config (nor your Script, I don't see anything you've tried...) for any Advanced User to want to help you...! Sorry...! :roll:
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
 
Posts: 6473
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:07 am
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: How can I share test results?

by BudHerz on Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:46 pm

Sorry, I meant to delete that first line. I had my first post disapproved (per the email I got).

I have installed iMacros on my FF, IE, and Chrome.

I have them all sharing the same folders to also share scripts.

I have created a few tests to understand how it works since I used it last (about 7yrs ago maybe).

I already use Selenium Webdriver and have the test results tool mentioned to allow other departments to track results.

I can't share a config yet. I'm willing, but I'm not sure how.

When I used iMacros before it was for just myself. I had no reason to share the results with anyone. Now I need to, but have no idea how.

What would you like to know? I would be happy to provide it.
BudHerz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:02 am

Re: How can I share test results?

by chivracq on Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:44 pm

BudHerz wrote:Sorry, I meant to delete that first line. I had my first post disapproved (per the email I got).

I have installed iMacros on my FF, IE, and Chrome.

I have them all sharing the same folders to also share scripts.

I have created a few tests to understand how it works since I used it last (about 7yrs ago maybe).

I already use Selenium Webdriver and have the test results tool mentioned to allow other departments to track results.

I can't share a config yet. I'm willing, but I'm not sure how.

When I used iMacros before it was for just myself. I had no reason to share the results with anyone. Now I need to, but have no idea how.

What would you like to know? I would be happy to provide it.

"I had my first post disapproved (per the email I got)."
Yep, sorry, was me, I go for Quality, and anti Spam, your other Post/Thread was probably a Duplicate, I always keep the best one...

"I have installed iMacros on my FF, IE, and Chrome."
Yes, good, then mention all 3 FCI's for me to read..., sorry, it's a Technical Forum, I see some "Selenium" somewhere, you are not a Script Kiddie, I guess, play the "Game" technically, I would think you are a Professional... :idea:
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
 
Posts: 6473
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:07 am
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: How can I share test results?

by BudHerz on Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:07 am

chivracq wrote:
"I have installed iMacros on my FF, IE, and Chrome."
Yes, good, then mention all 3 FCI's for me to read..., sorry, it's a Technical Forum, I see some "Selenium" somewhere, you are not a Script Kiddie, I guess, play the "Game" technically, I would think you are a Professional... :idea:


Chivracq,
Thank you for being direct. I don't typically get to work with anyone so ready for details as you seem to be. I'm self taught and working to pick up the terminology of the forum.

My FCI (Full Config Info):
iMacros + IE 11.0.15 + Windows 7 (SP1)
iMacros + FF 45 + Windows 7 (SP1)
iMacros + Chrome 48.0.2564.116 m + Windows 7 (SP1)

Example test:
VERSION BUILD=8961227 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/default.aspx
REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1_3.jpg
BACK
WAIT SECONDS=2
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:TVs<SP>&<SP>Home<SP>Theater
BACK
REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:2
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1_3.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Fresh<SP>Food
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:3
REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1_2.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Featured<SP>2<SP>in<SP>1<SP>Laptops<SP>&<SP>Tablets
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:4
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1_4.jpg
TAG POS=2 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=TXT:Edge®<SP>Advanced<SP>Shave<SP>Gel<SP>-<SP>3/9.5<SP>oz.
REFRESH
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_2.jpg
TAB T=2
REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Enter<SP>the<SP>Show<SP>Your<SP>Game<SP>Face<SP>Contest<SP>n*
TAB T=1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_3.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/tailgating2015-school-hero?wid=1000
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_4.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:TVs<SP>&<SP>Home<SP>Theater
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_5.jpg
TAB T=2
TAB T=1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/0005200012242_A
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Beverages
REFRESH
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Drinks
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Beverages
REFRESH
BACK
TAG POS=2 TYPE=DIV ATTR=TXT:Snacks
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Candy<SP>&<SP>Snacks
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/0004000032438_A
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:NCAA<SP>Gear
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/tailgating2015-school-hero?wid=1000
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Gift<SP>Cards
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Folding<SP>Tables<SP>and<SP>Chairs
BACK
BudHerz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:02 am

Re: How can I share test results?

by chivracq on Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:06 am

BudHerz wrote:Chivracq,
Thank you for being direct. I don't typically get to work with anyone so ready for details as you seem to be. I'm self taught and working to pick up the terminology of the forum.

My FCI (Full Config Info):
iMacros + IE 11.0.15 + Windows 7 (SP1)
iMacros + FF 45 + Windows 7 (SP1)
iMacros + Chrome 48.0.2564.116 m + Windows 7 (SP1)

Example test:
Code: Select all
VERSION BUILD=8961227 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/default.aspx
REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1_3.jpg
BACK
WAIT SECONDS=2
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:TVs<SP>&<SP>Home<SP>Theater
BACK
REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:2
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1_3.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Fresh<SP>Food
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:3
REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1_2.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Featured<SP>2<SP>in<SP>1<SP>Laptops<SP>&<SP>Tablets
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:4
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_1_4.jpg
TAG POS=2 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=TXT:Edge®<SP>Advanced<SP>Shave<SP>Gel<SP>-<SP>3/9.5<SP>oz.
REFRESH
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_2.jpg
TAB T=2
REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Enter<SP>the<SP>Show<SP>Your<SP>Game<SP>Face<SP>Contest<SP>n*
TAB T=1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_3.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/tailgating2015-school-hero?wid=1000
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_4.jpg
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:TVs<SP>&<SP>Home<SP>Theater
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://www5.samsclub.com/InClubsNow/MarchMadness/media/images/Mod_5.jpg
TAB T=2
TAB T=1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/0005200012242_A
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Beverages
REFRESH
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Drinks
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Beverages
REFRESH
BACK
TAG POS=2 TYPE=DIV ATTR=TXT:Snacks
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H1 ATTR=TXT:Candy<SP>&<SP>Snacks
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/0004000032438_A
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:NCAA<SP>Gear
TAG POS=1 TYPE=IMG ATTR=SRC:http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/tailgating2015-school-hero?wid=1000
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Gift<SP>Cards
BACK
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Folding<SP>Tables<SP>and<SP>Chairs
BACK

Okay..., we finally have your FCI, well kind of, because the iMacros Versions are still missing... :roll: , => iMacros for FF v8.9.6...(?) from your Example Script, and iMacros for CR v8.3.4 (or v8.3.5)...?, beware, iMacros for CR is a bit completely buggy/broken at this moment between CR48/49, check the 'iMacros for CR' Sub-Forum for more Info...

So..., I finally had a chance to read your Posts, yep sounds Legit and I understand the Need...! Reporting...!!

Pfff, dunno where to start, oops...! :oops:
1- OK, you already have some kind of Reporting Mechanism integrated into iMacros in the 'Profiler'.
It's a bit limited and not really "customizable", but you already get some Info about how the Script went and how much time it took to run..., the Results are presented in some '.XML' Document, so you can access/read it with your Browser and share it... I find it limited myself, and I noticed that it slows down Macro Execution by about 30% which can be a bit problematic when doing many Actions on a same Page if Performance and Speed are important... (It won't really play a role if you only load some Page, perform a few Clicks, etc, like it seems to be the case from your Script...)

2- The second way is like I do myself, to use the 'SAVEAS' Command to log yourself in some '.TXT' File (or even '.HTM' File, though I've never tried I think...) all the Info you want to save, and that File can be "shared" if saved in some "Shared" Folder... Prefer '.TXT' Extension to '.CSV' as it will allow you to open that File directly (in a second Tab) in your Browser at the end of your Macro.

3- iMacros has as well a Mechanism to display some Info in the Green Area in the iMacros Side-Panel while running a Macro, using the 'iimDisplay()' Command. It is unfortunately only available for '.js' Scripts, see my EnhReq in this Thread:
- Feedback - Take the iMacros Add-on(s) Survey!
(Feel free to bump that other Thread and to add your EnhReq's...)
I have a potential Workaround to get 'iimDisplay()' to work from an '.iim' Macro but it's pretty cumbersome and it is then much more simple to simply use a main '.js' Script...! I have another Idea but I never investigated it really and that would actually more or less be doing the Job of the Developer and implement it myself into iMacros, unless I find a way to call it directly...
Have a look at the 'self-Test.js' Demo-Macro for a nice Example how 'iimDisplay()' works...

4- A 4th way that I use myself is to "misuse" the Green Display Area on the Side Panel at the end of some of my Macros to display some mini-Report using 'MacroError()'.
I find it very powerful and I decide myself what to include in it, and the same Data can be saved into some '.TXT' File for Logging and/or long term Calculations.
Here is a Example:
Code: Select all
' Display PROMPT:
'*****************
SET Mission_Verrats Mission<SP>Verrats<SP>(1600):<SP>{{Tubes_vendus}}<BR>=><SP>Tubes<SP>manquants:<SP>{{Tubes_manquants}}<BR>
SET Tubes Tubes<SP>(Need<SP>/<SP>Stock):<SP>{{Tubes_Need}}<SP>/<SP>{{Tubes_Stock}}<BR>
SET Savons Savons<SP>(Need<SP>/<SP>Stock):<SP>{{Savons_Need}}<SP>/<SP>{{Savons_Stock}}<BR>
SET Vetos Vetos<SP>(Need<SP>/<SP>Stock):<SP>{{Vetos_Need}}<SP>/<SP>{{Vetos_Stock}}<BR>
'>
ADD Report {{Mission_Verrats}}<BR>{{Tubes}}<BR>{{Savons}}{{Vetos}}<BR>
'>
PROMPT {{Report}}

' Display Report:
'*****************
'ADD Report <BR>
SET !ERRORIGNORE NO
'SET !VAR1 EVAL("var s='{{!EXTRACT}}'; var x='OK'; if(s!='#EANF#'){MacroError('{{Mission_Terminee}}');}")
SET !VAR1 EVAL("{MacroError('{{Report}}');}")
SET !ERRORIGNORE YES

Which will display:
MacroError:

Mission Verrats (1600): 560
=> Tubes manquants: 1040

Tubes (Need / Stock): 264 / 1
Savons (Need / Stock): 1 / 16
Vetos (Need / Stock): 0 / 1

, line 230 (Error code: -1340)

All the Data is extracted/computed during Macro Execution.
I have much more complex Examples, that even use some Temp File to do some Calculations between different Loops and/or since last Run.

5- And from logging all Info that you want, you can reuse it as well later or directly during your Script to jump to a second Tab from time to time to fill in IRT some Data into your 'ExtentX' Web-Interface... :idea:
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
 
Posts: 6473
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:07 am
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: How can I share test results?

by BudHerz on Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:15 pm

Wow that is a lot for me to explore and apply. Thank you very much!

We have all sorts of charts and graphs on screens in common areas here at work so being able to also add to the Extent report will be very helpful.

For the record my complete FCI --
iMacros v11 + IE 11.0.15 + Windows 7 (SP1)
iMacros 8.9.6 + FF 45 + Windows 7 (SP1)
iMacros 8.3.5 + Chrome 48.0.2564.116 m + Windows 7 (SP1)
BudHerz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:02 am

Re: How can I share test results?

by chivracq on Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:27 pm

BudHerz wrote:Wow that is a lot for me to explore and apply. Thank you very much!

We have all sorts of charts and graphs on screens in common areas here at work so being able to also add to the Extent report will be very helpful.

For the record my complete FCI --
iMacros v11 + IE 11.0.15 + Windows 7 (SP1)
iMacros 8.9.6 + FF 45 + Windows 7 (SP1)
iMacros 8.3.5 + Chrome 48.0.2564.116 m + Windows 7 (SP1)

Well, everything you can do/access with some web-Interface in your Browser you can normally automate with iMacros... (Only Flash is problematic and only works with the iMB, not with the free Add-ons...)

I've referred to your Thread in the Thread about Survey and EnhReq's that I mentioned earlier...
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
 
Posts: 6473
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:07 am
Location: Amsterdam (NL)


Return to General Support & Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

-->