Remove last 4 characters from input text field

Discussions and Tech Support related to website data extraction, screen scraping and data mining using iMacros.

Moderators: Community Moderators, iMacros Moderators

Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the Google search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed. This will search the entire contents of the forums as well as the iMacros Wiki.
3. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information:

CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST

Answering your own posts (e.g. attempting to "bump" your topic) drops your topic from the list of unanswered threads, so it may actually receive less views.

Remove last 4 characters from input text field

by TaAaZZ on Mon May 16, 2016 10:12 am

Hi! I am fairly new to iMacros. I am using iMacros to extract some text from title of the page then paste that text in a text box. Currently when I put that extracted text, it gets .mp4 written in it (title contains .mp4). I want to remove '.mp4' and replace it with '.com'
Currently I am doing this:

Code: Select all
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:NoFormName ATTR=ID:videoedit_title EXTRACT=TXT
SET !VAR2 {{!EXTRACT}}
SET !EXTRACT NULL
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:NoFormName ATTR=ID:videoedit_description CONTENT="{{!VAR2}}.com"
wait seconds=2

This adds .com to the end but there is no code to remove .mp4

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
TaAaZZ

Re: Remove last 4 characters from input text field

by chivracq on Mon May 16, 2016 11:24 am

TaAaZZ wrote:Hi! I am fairly new to iMacros. I am using iMacros to extract some text from title of the page then paste that text in a text box. Currently when I put that extracted text, it gets .mp4 written in it (title contains .mp4). I want to remove '.mp4' and replace it with '.com'
Currently I am doing this: