How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Discussions and Tech Support related to the iMacros Firefox Add-on, including the built-in Javascript scripting interface for playing .js files.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
SureshNaiduA
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:23 pm
Contact:

How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by SureshNaiduA » Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:35 pm

When I am trying to record the fields in firefox I am not getting those fields I wanted.

The page I am trying to record the macro is

http://www.hcpafl.org/CamaDisplay.aspx? ... 000000020U

Please find the attachment what the fields I need to extract


Can any one help me in this please
untitled.JPG
Suresh Naidu A,
Technical Recruiter,
Primesoft Inc.
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3522
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:24 pm

Hi Suresh,

Try the following:

Code: Select all

URL GOTO=http://www.hcpafl.org/CamaDisplay.aspx?OutputMode=Display&SearchType=RealEstate&ParcelID=1928071GX000000000020U

' Extract Property Owner
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TABLE ATTR=CLASS:ownerName EXTRACT=TXT

' Extract Mailing Address
TAG POS=1 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=CLASS:mailing&&TXT:Mailing<SP>Address
TAG POS=R1 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=CLASS:mailingAddress EXTRACT=TXT
TAG POS=R1 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=CLASS:mailingAddress EXTRACT=TXT

' Extract sales month
TAG POS=1 TYPE=H3 ATTR=TXT:Sales<SP>History
TAG POS=R3 TYPE=TD ATTR=TXT:* EXTRACT=TXT

' Extract sales year
TAG POS=R1 TYPE=TD ATTR=TXT:* EXTRACT=TXT

' Extract sales price
TAG POS=R4 TYPE=TD ATTR=TXT:* EXTRACT=TXT

' Extract site address
TAG POS=1 TYPE=DIV ATTR=CLASS:siteAddress EXTRACT=TXT
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
SureshNaiduA
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by SureshNaiduA » Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:49 pm

Thank you very much

Its working

May I know u r mail ID please
If I have any doubts I will send the mails to you


I am facing these type of small problems every day


I am requesting you to send me your mail Id

my mail id is sureshnaidu143@gmail.com
Suresh Naidu A,
Technical Recruiter,
Primesoft Inc.
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3522
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:05 pm

Suresh,

It is not our policy to give out a direct email address. If you would like to continue receiving this type of support from iOpus staff, then I would recommend that you sign up for one of our support options: http://www.iopus.com/service/support/options.htm.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
jfj3rd
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Riverside CA
Contact:

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by jfj3rd » Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:39 pm

Hi Tom,

I have an additional question using this post as an example.

I'm trying to take data from a table like the one above and place that data in specific cells within an excel sheet. I have specific data only that I want though. For example:
example.JPG
I've gone through the tutorials and am using the Control Toolbox Command Button to do the coding that calls the iMacro(s) themselves. I'm fairly positive I got the iMacro part working for me but I'm having issues with the VB code. Think you could add to this post what it might take to grab the data from this person's example and shove it into an excel document for me so that I can see what needs to be done?
--

Warmest Wishes,

John F. Jones III
SureshNaiduA
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by SureshNaiduA » Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:16 pm

Can you send me more information in the issue you posted ?

What you want to extract data from web page ?

I will try
Suresh Naidu A,
Technical Recruiter,
Primesoft Inc.
jfj3rd
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Riverside CA
Contact:

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by jfj3rd » Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:22 pm

Hello SureshNaiduA,

You can actually use the above example for this original post. The original poster used this link: http://www.hcpafl.org/CamaDisplay.aspx? ... 000000020U. In my comment I included an image of an excel document that shows I'd like to extract the following data:

Market Value
Assessed Value
Sale Year
Sale Price

I want that data alone to be added to my excel sheet. Once I see how it is done I'll be able to figure it out pretty easily for the real site which unfortunately is internal access only to our office.

Thanks for giving it a try!
--

Warmest Wishes,

John F. Jones III
SureshNaiduA
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by SureshNaiduA » Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:53 pm

Yes, It is possible to extract the text as you required.

But there are again 4 rows named

County

public schools

Municipal

Other districts

Do you need to extract all of the table or only first row ?
Suresh Naidu A,
Technical Recruiter,
Primesoft Inc.
jfj3rd
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Riverside CA
Contact:

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by jfj3rd » Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:58 pm

Hi SureshNaiduA,

All I want scraped is the data under Market Value, Assessed Value, Sale Year & Sale Price. and placed in the appropriate columns on the excel sheet that I've provided as a sample image above.
--

Warmest Wishes,

John F. Jones III
SureshNaiduA
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by SureshNaiduA » Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:52 pm

Then its better to extract all the table at a time
Suresh Naidu A,
Technical Recruiter,
Primesoft Inc.
jfj3rd
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Riverside CA
Contact:

Re: How to record the selected columns and rows in a table ?

Post by jfj3rd » Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:00 pm

If I extracted all the table at the same time I might as well not have any automation at all though. The data I am scraping to create internal reports has hundreds of rows and a dozen or more columns easily that I'd then need to clean up. I'm looking for iMacros to scrape specific data only from the table and neatly place it into the excel sheet where I want and need it to go so that when it finishes doing that i can simply save the file and send it off to whichever Manager wants it.
--

Warmest Wishes,

John F. Jones III
Post Reply