Default download folder available as a variable?

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros Firefox add-on.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Default download folder available as a variable?

Post by giorgio79 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:04 pm

Hello,

I am downloading some files to the default folder with
FOLDER=*

Is it possible to access this location somehow later on in the macro?

Something like
DEFAULTFOLDER
so I can use that file elsewhere?
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
MattBell7
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Default download folder available as a variable?

Post by MattBell7 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:44 pm

i'm guessing you want to extract an image, then upload it somewhere else?

easiest option would be to point your Download and Datasource paths to the same place, then you don't need to know exactly where it is.
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Default download folder available as a variable?

Post by giorgio79 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:50 pm

Nice idea.

Although I would like to avoid asking my users to do this (I am building some macros for them)

If we would have a
DOWNLOAD_FOLDER variable that would be the best :)
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
MattBell7
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Default download folder available as a variable?

Post by MattBell7 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:55 pm

or you could declare a variable e.g.

SET !VAR1 C:\iMacros\

then download with:
FOLDER={{!VAR1}}
and upload with
CONTENT={{!VAR1}}\Image.jpg
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Default download folder available as a variable?

Post by giorgio79 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:58 pm

Yes :) doing this right now, but the user needs to create the folder first, since Firefox cannot create directories.

http://forum.imacros.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=9913
there is some hackish java solution mentioned, but the simplest would be to just have that location in a variable ;)
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3834
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Default download folder available as a variable?

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:28 pm

giorgio79 wrote: but the simplest would be to just have that location in a variable ;)
You've provided a good use case for this, so I've added this to our feature request list.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Marcia, Tech Support

Re: Default download folder available as a variable?

Post by Marcia, Tech Support » Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:08 am

Hello,

I suggest that you download to the !FOLDER_DATASOURCE instead (this variable is already available!)

Code: Select all

ONDOWNLOAD FOLDER={{!FOLDER_DATASOURCE}} FILE=...
Would that solve your problem?
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Default download folder available as a variable?

Post by giorgio79 » Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:22 am

Thanks Tom, that would be lovely.

Marcia thanks for the tip, however I notice FOLDER_DATASOURCE is only available in IE but not in Firefox?
http://wiki.imacros.net/!FOLDER_DATASOURCE

Would love to have that in FF as well. :)
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
Post Reply