Running iMacros for Firefox using iimrunner

Discussions and Tech Support related to the iMacros Firefox Add-on, including the built-in Javascript scripting interface for playing .js files.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
abrmhk
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 9:45 am

Running iMacros for Firefox using iimrunner

Post by abrmhk » Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:46 pm

I am successfully automating iMacros for IE using iimrunner.
I want to convert this to Firefox, but can't make it work !

This vbs is used for IE:
If WScript.Arguments.Count = 1 Then
Macro1 = WScript.Arguments.Item(0)
Else
Wscript.Echo "Usage: start-ie.vbs Macro1"
Wscript.Quit
End If

set iim1= CreateObject ("imacros")

'Start Internet Explorer
iret = iim1.iimOpen ("-runner")

'Run the macro
iret = iim1.iimPlay(macro1)

'Close IE again
iret = iim1.iimExit(1)
WScript.Quit(0)
- - - -
To change it to use Firefox I added -fx switch to iimInit:
iret = iim1.iimInit ("-fx -runner")

But this will not run !
I have tested the macro in Firefox iMacro player - no problems

Any ideas ?

Regards,
Mogens
abrmhk
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 9:45 am

Re: Running iMacros for Firefox using iimrunner

Post by abrmhk » Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:55 am

Hi again
You need to supply the -fxProfile keyword together with -fx - like:
iret = iim1.iimOpen ("-runner -fx -fxProfile default")

This answers my question

Regards,
Mogens
abrmhk
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 9:45 am

Re: Running iMacros for Firefox using iimrunner

Post by abrmhk » Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:38 am

Update !
I am testing on a Windows 2003 server and a Win 7 PC.
On Windows 7 I can automate using iimrunner, but on Windows 2003 I am prompted to selct a profile - evne though I specify -fxprofile !
Any ideas out there ?

Regards,
Mogens
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3530
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Running iMacros for Firefox using iimrunner

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:44 am

Hi abrmhk,

Please make sure you are using compatible versions of iMacros and Firefox as described in the following post:

How to automate Firefox with iimInit ("-fx")
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Post Reply