Using attributes

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros Firefox add-on.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
doc martin
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:50 pm

Using attributes

Post by doc martin » Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:40 pm

In all the example macros I have seen (which is not many :oops: ) the attribute of the text input used is the name of the text box. E.g. ATTR=NAME:*name*.

Many developers name their controls using shorthand, E.g. 21the_phon for the text box to input the phone number. They do, however, tend to put standard labels next to the input controls. For the example here, the label would say "Phone" maybe.

Is there any way in iMacros to specify the input control by the text next to it? Having this would mean that you don't have to have a separate line on the macro for every different web site. One line that said maybe, ATTR=LABEL:*phone* would work on most input boxed requiring a phone number.

Many thanks.
Hannes, Tech Support

Post by Hannes, Tech Support » Mon Nov 27, 2006 3:38 pm

Hello,

using one macro on different sites is always desirable, but I see a problem, especially as to what we might call "next to". Sometimes the relevant text is before the data field, sometimes subsequent to it. Sometimes it is a table's cell next to the data field (above, below, right from the field, left from the field), and sometimes it is the heading/listing item just before data field.

I'd say that there are simply too many possible variants.


Hannes
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:56 pm

iMacros already has a similar concept, which is the Relative Extraction or Relative Tag command. For example, see

URL GOTO=http://www.iopus.com/service/contact/
TAG POS=1 TYPE=* ATTR=TXT:<SP>Phone<SP>number<SP>
TAG POS=R1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:* ATTR=NAME:* CONTENT=123-456-7890

This fills in the phone number in the next input field after the "Phone number" text element. Of course, our algorithm has still some ways to go before it can match the flexibility of the human concept of "next to" ;)

Mathias

PS: The relative tag/extract commands currently only available in the IE version.
chelper
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:37 pm

need help with Craigslist posting

Post by chelper » Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:40 pm

I tried using relative tags...I used the imacros browser to get extract the attrib information I thought I needed. how can I make this work.
I already have the image verification working but need to input it into this field..the filed has a randomly generated name...so I need to use relative positioning at least I think I do...

VERSION BUILD=5200814
TAB T=1
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
URL GOTO=https://post.craigslist.org/lax/S/pts/w ... Oyo1/sdunw
SIZE X=876 Y=627
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TITLE ATTR=<IMG<SP>alt="*
TAG POS=R1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:* ATTR=NAME:* CONTENT=TEST
chelper
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:37 pm

attrib field random

Post by chelper » Sun Dec 17, 2006 9:42 pm

I just want to find this field and put content to it
this is the field

<td valign="top">
<input name="U2FsdGVkX19coLpLjcC-NG6Z6TvMRaaylB1VyqIBHUoRTLqg6wjn1koKimB9Ae-46btLQhtimWOaRO33VL7Dsw" maxlength="10" size="15" tabindex="1">
<input type="hidden" name="captchaID" value="U2FsdGVkX18GmHNIHblHPYeuzRg_UKOEAzylBF7D8rk7sWzaBbjI7QLQ6kh9dYY5">
</td>


how do I find this and put a value into it
chelper
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:37 pm

how to fine the elment position

Post by chelper » Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:03 pm

I think my issue is how to find what tag equals

meaning sometimes it is tag=16 some times tag=44

how do I find this input field number
chelper
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:37 pm

here is the link

Post by chelper » Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:07 pm

not sure how long this will stay up

https://post.craigslist.org/lax/P/ers/s ... TmNy/7c6mw
chelper
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:37 pm

input box has not specific name

Post by chelper » Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:10 pm

the link
https://post.craigslist.org/lax/P/ers/s ... TmNy/7c6mw

need to find how to enter data to the input box that has no name, or no set name, the name changes every time.

I have the captcha info from the picture, and now can not input it into the input box..

https://post.craigslist.org/lax/P/ers/s ... TmNy/7c6mw

*******

this is the field

<input name="U2FsdGVkX1_evT4_Q1zaxtdt2IXAMUMpoGpK-HmW91-8l2H0sHfQQQtWpp30h0puAG_aIV849T20nzhdPapvxA" maxlength="10" size="15" tabindex="1">

the input name changes every time...so what can I do???

***********
chelper
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:37 pm

TRIED TO USE * BUT DID NOT WORK

Post by chelper » Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:54 am

VERSION BUILD=5200814
TAB T=1
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
URL GOTO=https://post.craigslist.org/sea/P/ers/s ... yol7/2h3p8
SIZE X=876 Y=627
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=ACTION:/sea/P/ers/see/x/* ATTR=NAME:U2FsdGVkX1* CONTENT=TEST
chelper
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:37 pm

HERE IS ANOTHER THING i TRIED

Post by chelper » Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:40 am

TRYING TO GET RELATIVE POSITION...

VERSION BUILD=5200814
TAB T=1
SET !EXTRACT_TEST_POPUP NO
SET !ERRORIGNORE YES
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
URL GOTO=https://post.craigslist.org/sea/P/ers/s ... yol7/2h3p8
SIZE X=876 Y=627
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TD ATTR=TXT:<BR><LF>(hear<SP>verification<SP>word)*
TAG POS=R1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:* ATTR=NAME:* CONTENT=123-456-7890
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:hear<SP>verification<SP>word
TAG POS=R1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:* ATTR=NAME:* CONTENT=123-456-7890
chelper
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:37 pm

BROKE IT DOWN TO A TINYEST MODULE

Post by chelper » Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:45 am

HTML CODE

AS YOU CAN SEE the tag does not have any type..

just input name... not type = textbox
or hidden..


<table border="0" cellspacing="3" cellpadding="3" summary="">
<tr>
<td valign="top" align="center"><img src="/cgi-bin/vimage_new?pk=U2FsdGVkX18o-QXJgK3thU1fQN9pg77CkyhWDKVgswTRNhmTZ1LiZtx8ZN4XvImX" alt="verification word"><br>
(<a href="http://www.craigslist.org/cgi-bin/vimag ... &audible=1" style="font-size: x-small;">hear verification word</a>)</td>
<td valign="top">
<input name="U2FsdGVkX18L9zi_fYFQ4DevBl3Qo164_a3cLS0eFGcpG8p44gzivWPidv0MEZcY2yLTLhlO0RLrVOMFKZ4b2Q" maxlength="10" size="15" tabindex="1">
&nbsp;
<p><input type="text" name="TEST" size="20" value="TEST"><input type="hidden" name="captchaID" value="U2FsdGVkX18o-QXJgK3thU1fQN9pg77CkyhWDKVgswTRNhmTZ1LiZtx8ZN4XvImX"> </p>
</td>
<td valign="top"><input type="submit" tabindex="1" name="finishForm" value="Continue">&nbsp;&nbsp;<input type="submit" tabindex="1" name="getForm" value="Edit">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
<a target="_blank" href="http://www.craigslist.org/about/verification.html"
style="font-family:sans-serif; font-size: x-small;">what's this?</a></td>
</tr></table>
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:37 am

Hi chelper,

I note that the terms of use for craigslist.org prohibits the automation of the use of the website. Additionally you are asking for assistance with automating CAPTCHA handling. CAPTCHAs are generally intended to prevent automation of websites.

Unless you are the owner of this website or an authorized tester then we cannot assist you here.

If you are the owner or authorized by the owner then please raise a support ticket via our website.

Daniel Kerr
iOpus Support
Post Reply