CTRL-A not getting recorded

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros Firefox add-on.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
bgoodr
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:52 pm

CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by bgoodr » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:29 pm

I'm trying to automate a login to Facebook in the case where someone else has already logged into facebook from the same browser. So I need a way to clear the "email" form entry reliably that may have been populated either automatically by facebook when it generates the web page content, or by Firefox's autocomplete, etc. etc.

Below, I've created just the first part of the login iMacros script by recording via these steps (the values are gibberish here just for demonstrating the issue I'm seeing):
  1. Left mouse single-click inside the "email" form field.
  2. Type nonsense characters "asdfasdfa" (without double-quotes)
  3. Type CTRL-A
  4. Type BACKSPACE
  5. Type in the real email address of "something" (without double-quotes)
The resulting iMacros script is:

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=8300326 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=https://www.facebook.com/
EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#email" BUTTON=0
EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" CHARS="asdfasdfa"
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" KEY=8
EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" CHARS="something"
What I see instead is that the form field then contains "asdfasdfasomething" when it should have just "something".

Under iMacros, Recording tab, Record Options, I have Experimental Recording Mode checked. I reason this is a correct setting because I want all keystrokes to be punched in just as if I had typed them myself, and I expect CTRL-A to be handled likewise. But I suspect iMacros is not handling that key binding as I expect. Why?

Just in case there is an interaction with other extensions below is the full list of installed addons via the Extension List Dumper:

Code: Select all

Application: Firefox 23.0.1 (20130814063812)
Operating System: Linux (x86-gcc3)

- Adblock Plus 2.3.2
	http://adblockplus.org/en/
	August 1, 2013 20:27:44
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- Add-on Compatibility Reporter 2.0.1 (Disabled)
	https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/add-on-compatibility-reporter/?src=api
	April 20, 2013 06:14:58
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- ChmFox 2.9
	http://bitbucket.org/zhuoqiang/chmfox
	March 31, 2013 18:50:30
- cliget 1.1.0
	https://github.com/zaidka/cliget
	June 13, 2013 07:24:14
	March 23, 2013 12:18:02
- Copy URL + 1.3.2
	http://copyurlplus.mozdev.org/
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- DictionarySearch 10.0.0
	http://dictionarysearch.mozdev.org/
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- Diigo Toolbar 5.1.0.38
	https://www.diigo.com/
	March 2, 2013 08:10:22
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- DOM Inspector 2.0.14
	http://www.mozilla.org/projects/inspector/
	April 20, 2013 06:06:51
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- DownThemAll! 2.0.16
	http://downthemall.net/
	April 6, 2013 11:27:42
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- EmailTheWeb.com 2.20
	http://www.EmailTheWeb.com
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- Extension List Dumper 1.15.2
	http://www.sogame.cat/
	August 25, 2013 09:12:10
- Gmelius, Towards a Better Gmail™ 5.7.4
	http://gmelius.com
	August 24, 2013 20:22:33
	October 6, 2012 10:35:21
- Greasemonkey 1.11
	http://www.greasespot.net/
	August 8, 2013 06:13:09
	October 6, 2012 10:01:26
- iMacros for Firefox 8.3.0
	http://www.iopus.com/imacros/firefox
	April 6, 2013 11:27:42
	October 6, 2012 14:57:24
- It's All Text! 1.8.1
	http://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/4125
	May 24, 2013 20:41:45
	May 13, 2013 11:07:58
- keyconfig 20110522
	http://mozilla.dorando.at/
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- Lock The Text 0.34
	http://lockthetext.sourceforge.net/
	April 6, 2013 13:04:38
- Mozilla Archive Format 2.0.9
	http://maf.mozdev.org/
	February 15, 2013 22:09:43
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- Remember The Milk for Gmail 1.0.7
	http://www.rememberthemilk.com/services/gmail/
	December 6, 2012 20:19:10
	October 6, 2012 14:30:30
- Restartless Restart 9
	http://github.com/erikvold/restartless-restart-ffext
	January 30, 2013 20:38:31
	October 6, 2012 10:10:15
- Search By Image (by Google) 1.1.2
	http://www.google.com
	February 21, 2013 20:33:11
	October 13, 2012 09:04:23
- SQLite Manager 0.8.0
	http://sqlite-manager.googlecode.com/
	July 4, 2013 12:27:16
- Stylish 1.3.2
	http://userstyles.org/
	April 21, 2013 18:37:09
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31
- Tab Mix Plus 0.4.1.0
	http://tmp.garyr.net
	April 21, 2013 18:37:08
	October 13, 2012 11:17:09
- Web Developer 1.2.5
	http://chrispederick.com/work/web-developer/firefox/
	May 11, 2013 15:47:02
	September 28, 2012 22:19:31

This is running on 32-bit Firefox running on a 64-bit Linux system, but that should not be relevant (I hope not!).

Thanks,
bgoodr
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by chivracq » Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:12 pm

Hi, short reply as I see that nobody replied to your Post..., I can confirm that Ctrl^ is not being recorded in the EVENT Recording Mode, I had noticed it as well a few weeks ago... but haven't reported it yet in "my" dedicated Thread:
Feedback and Issues on EVENT Recording Mode.
Shift^ is not recorded either, except with letters and "normal" Shift^Characters on the Keyboard, but for example not with Shift^End or Shift^Arrow...
I did a wee bit of troubleshooting/finding a workaround for you a few days ago, the JS_Key codes don't work either, the only solution I found for you was doing a Mouse_Select in the Field, END, and 20-40 times BACKSPACE, depending on how long you expect your Email address to be...
But I think as well that recording your Macro in Automatic Mode will select and fill in the E-mail address with the new E-mail address even if that field is already populated...

Right_Click + Select_All doesn't work either, only the Right_Click (BUTTON=2) is recorded, but not what you may select from the Context-Menu...
Last edited by chivracq on Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by chivracq » Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:57 pm

Hum, seems to work:

'Click in the field...
'Home + Shit^End + Delete:
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#body" KEY=36
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#body" KEY=35 MODIFIERS="shift"
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#body" KEY=46
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
bgoodr
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by bgoodr » Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:44 pm

chivracq wrote:Hum, seems to work:

'Click in the field...
'Home + Shift^End + Delete:
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#body" KEY=36
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#body" KEY=35 MODIFIERS="shift"
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#body" KEY=46
Thanks very much for trying, chivracq!

I retried what I think your steps were and it did not work for me.

This is what I did exactly:
  1. Navigate to https://www.facebook.com/login.php
  2. Start recording (in experimental Event recording mode).
  3. Left mouse button single-click in the middle of the email field. It had my email address in there but I want to retype it each time.
  4. Pressed Home key and released.
  5. Pressed Shift-End key combination and released.
  6. Pressed Delete key and released.
  7. Noticed that the text in the field was wiped out as it should have been.
  8. Typed "foo" (without the double quotes of course)
  9. Stop recording.
  10. Close the tab.
  11. Open a new tab.
  12. Play the macro
  13. At the end, notice that my email address is still there, but with "foo" tacked onto the end of it.
Here is the resulting macro:

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=8300326 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=https://www.facebook.com/login.php
EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#email" BUTTON=0
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" KEY=36
EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" KEYS="[35,46]"
EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" CHARS="foo"
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" KEY=9
I'm curious as to why I'm getting numerics for the keys while you, chivracq, are seeing 'MODIFIERS="shift"' in your result. Maybe differences in extension version or something? Maybe this is a platform-specific thing (I'm running on Linux)?

Thanks
bg
napster
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 6:31 pm

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by napster » Thu Dec 19, 2013 6:46 pm

Hi buddy.
these key will not get recorded i can't tell you why but they just can't be recorded but
you can define them your self.

if you want the CTRL-A to work you have to assign it your self you have to make the event type.

Code: Select all

EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS
The selector which is in your case #email

Code: Select all

SELECTOR="#email" 
the key you want to click: in your case A

Code: Select all

Char="a"
and finally the modifier which is CTRL.

Code: Select all

MODIFIERS="ctrl"
NOTE: The character that you want to click must be before the modifier or it will not work

and the Command will be like this

Code: Select all

EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" Char="a" MODIFIERS="ctrl"
This should work as its already working with me for the CTRL-V command.
this is the macro that you want i think i tested it and its working good for me
i hope this solves your problem.

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=8601111 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=https://www.facebook.com/
EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#email" BUTTON=0 'Left mouse Click'
EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" CHARS="asdfasdfa" 'Non Sence typing'
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" Char="a" MODIFIERS="ctrl" 'CTRL-A'
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" KEY=8 ' Type BACKSPACE'
EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" CHARS="email@email.com" 'Type in the real email '
Maxal
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 4:27 pm

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by Maxal » Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:21 pm

VERSION BUILD=8890130 | FF 36 | Mac Pro, Mountain Lion
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Code: Select all

EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" Char="a" MODIFIERS="ctrl"
Do we have a modifier for Command button on a Mac keyboard?
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by chivracq » Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:14 am

Maxal wrote:VERSION BUILD=8890130 | FF 36 | Mac Pro, Mountain Lion
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Code: Select all

EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#email" Char="a" MODIFIERS="ctrl"
Do we have a modifier for Command button on a Mac keyboard?
Don't know honestly and I don't have a Mac to test, I would think "MODIFIERS="cmd"" would do the trick if there is any, otherwise, place yourself in some Input Field and try 100 times in a row, you will eventually manage to record the correct Key Sequence..., that's how I did on Win32/64 at the beginning... when the EVENT Mode came on... Or you have some Web-Sites with all JavaScript Key-Codes, and until now everything what iMacros ever recorded was correct (by checking afterwards on those Sites... (And you sometimes even have 2 Solutions...)).
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Maxal
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 4:27 pm

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by Maxal » Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:49 pm

I had tried CMD and Command, and did some web search also before reviving this 2-year-old thread. Thanx chivracq :)
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by chivracq » Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:43 pm

Maxal wrote:I had tried CMD and Command, and did some web search also before reviving this 2-year-old thread. Thanx chivracq :)
Ah, was maybe worth mentioning what you had tried... But then I would think that simply 'ctrl' should work as well, for the Browser it's the same final result...
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Maxal
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 4:27 pm

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by Maxal » Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:22 pm

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=8890130 RECORDER=FX
FRAME F=1
EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="HTML" BUTTON=0
EVENT TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="HTML>BODY" Char="v" MODIFIERS="ctrl"
The above iMacros works on a PC. But on a Mac, neither MODIFIERS="cmd", KEY="224" or KEYS="86, 224" work.

If anyone comes across a solution, please do mention it over here. Thanx :)
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by chivracq » Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:02 pm

Maybe you could try the 'Try it' Field on this Page:
http://www.cambiaresearch.com/articles/ ... -key-codes
(Pressing the 'Control' Key (alone) on this Page (on Pale Moon v24.6.4 (=FF31), Win7-x64) gives as Result: Key=ctrl / KeyCode=17.)
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Maxal
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 4:27 pm

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by Maxal » Tue Mar 24, 2015 7:50 pm

This is the site I got 224. Checked out some other sites also, it's 224 everywhere, including official developer website of Firefox. No luck :(
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by chivracq » Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:27 am

Maxal wrote:This is the site I got 224. Checked out some other sites also, it's 224 everywhere, including official developer website of Firefox. No luck :(
Yep, but you always give half-precise Answers..., Grrr...!, "224" is the 'KeyCode', what got recorded for 'Key', like I mentioned "Key=ctrl", meaning 'ctrl' for Win Systems...?
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Maxal
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 4:27 pm

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by Maxal » Wed Apr 01, 2015 2:06 am

chivracq wrote:
Maxal wrote:This is the site I got 224. Checked out some other sites also, it's 224 everywhere, including official developer website of Firefox. No luck :(
Yep, but you always give half-precise Answers..., Grrr...!, "224" is the 'KeyCode', what got recorded for 'Key', like I mentioned "Key=ctrl", meaning 'ctrl' for Win Systems...?

This is what I am getting: Image
Fuledbyramen
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:12 am

Re: CTRL-A not getting recorded

Post by Fuledbyramen » Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:09 am

Hey, I know this is an older post but I did google it and it still came up so if any of you still need a solution or anyone stumbling on this need one, I came up with a small solution, it clicks on the textbox then clicks the right key as many times as you think it might be long, then deletes, that way itll always be at the end and delete :)

Code: Select all

EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#auth>FORM>TABLE>TBODY>TR>TD>LABEL>INPUT" BUTTON=0
EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#auth>FORM>TABLE>TBODY>TR>TD>LABEL>INPUT" KEYS="[39,39,39,39,39,8,8,8,8,8]"
EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#auth>FORM>TABLE>TBODY>TR:nth-of-type(2)>TD>LABEL>INPUT" BUTTON=0
EVENTS TYPE=KEYPRESS SELECTOR="#auth>FORM>TABLE>TBODY>TR:nth-of-type(2)>TD>LABEL>INPUT" KEYS="[39,39,39,39,39,39,39,39,39,39,39,39,8,8,8,8,8,8,8,8,8]"
Post Reply