Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros Firefox add-on.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
klint
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:16 pm

Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Post by klint » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:24 pm

Hello

I am using iMacros 8.8.1 with FF 28 on Windows 7 64bits.

Every time I try to read a file wuith SET !DATASOURCE, I get the following error:
NS_ERROR_UNEXPECTED: Component returned failure code: 0x8000ffff (NS_ERROR_UNEXPECTED) [nsIPrefBranch.getCharPref] (Error code: -1001)

By the way, this also happens to me with the Demo_Datasource script (and I have checked that the file is found as I get a "file not found" error if I rename the source file), so I'm pretty sure it's not a syntax problem.
The security settings on the source folder and file seem to be ok.

Any clue?

Thanks for your help.
chivracq
Posts: 9481
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Post by chivracq » Sat Mar 15, 2014 5:29 am

FF28 is still in Beta..., I'm still at FF27..., didn't get any kind of Error like you..., iMacros v8.8.1 supports FF27...

I don't know this "Demo_Datasource" (sorry I don't even check, I know the names of all Demos), can you be more precise with the Name...?
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
klint
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Post by klint » Sat Mar 15, 2014 8:37 am

It seems I have found the cause: all files (macro, datasources) must be UNIX/UTF8 encoded, even on Windows :)
That was not the case for my datasource file.

Is this new? I can't recall that in the older versions... maybe my files were ok at the time.

Conclusion: it's safer to use the internal iMacro editor for macros. It saves in the right format.
chivracq
Posts: 9481
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Post by chivracq » Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:19 pm

Similar/related Thread with more info...:
iMacros 8.6.0 Loop-Csv-2-Web.iim example not working
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
klint
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Post by klint » Sat Mar 15, 2014 4:12 pm

chivracq wrote:Similar/related Thread with more info...:
iMacros 8.6.0 Loop-Csv-2-Web.iim example not working
Thanks

It is worth either a correction of the problem or a warning/FAQ entry :)
chivracq
Posts: 9481
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Post by chivracq » Sat Mar 15, 2014 4:42 pm

klint wrote:
chivracq wrote:Similar/related Thread with more info...:
iMacros 8.6.0 Loop-Csv-2-Web.iim example not working
Thanks

It is worth either a correction of the problem or a warning/FAQ entry :)
Version History of iMacros for FF mentions clearly that the latest iMacros Version for the Add-on for FF (only) supports FF27... FF28 and FF29 are not supported yet officially... But as I mentioned in the other Thread, it will be indeed a big kind of messy situation quite soon when Firefox will force all Users to update their Browser to FF28 if iMacros has not been updated before...
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
rdcarlson
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 5:38 pm

Re: Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Post by rdcarlson » Fri Mar 21, 2014 2:35 am

Running iMacro version 8.8.1 on XP SP3 and Win 7 machines.
Several macros will not run with Firefox ver 28, some will.
The error message:
NS_ERROR_UNEXPECTED: Component returned
failure code: 0x8000ffff (NS_ERROR_UNEXPECTED)
(ns1PewfBranch, getCharPref) (Error code: -1001)

This is one of the simple marcos that gives the error:

VERSION BUILD=6050612 RECORDER=FX
tab open
TAB T=2
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
TAB T=1
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
URL GOTO=http://www.portlandgasprices.com/

My solution was to downgrade to FF 27.

This macro will run on FF 27 & FF 28

VERSION BUILD=6111228 RECORDER=FX
tab open
TAB T=2
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
TAB T=1
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS
URL GOTO=http://mommyswishlist.blogspot.com/sear ... 20a%20Dime
chivracq
Posts: 9481
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Unknown error -1001 when opening any source

Post by chivracq » Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:52 am

- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Post Reply