Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Discussions and Tech Support related to the iMacros Firefox Add-on, including the built-in Javascript scripting interface for playing .js files.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information:CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
cellarman
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:02 pm

Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by cellarman » Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:26 pm

In iMacros for Firefox I have a macro which logs into my broadband router, changes some settings and then logs out. It worked fine before I upgraded FF to 38.0.1 but since 38.0.1 the macro doesn't work any more.

I'm using iMacros for Firefox v. 8.9.2.1 signed

My OS is Windows 8.1 Pro. 64 bit OS, x64-based processor.

FF was 38.0.1 (since downgraded to 37.0.2).

Demo macros and other macros I wrote myself work fine.

Can't give URL of webpage as it's my router login page on my home network.

Same macro works fine in iMacros for IE.

Actual results:

The macro hangs when trying to fill in the user and password in the 'Authentication Required' popup window. Attached file shows the window. The macro is below:

TAB T=1
SET !ENCRYPTION NO
ONLOGIN USER=****** PASSWORD=****** (I masked these for this report)
URL GOTO=http://192.168.0.1/sky_firewall_rules.html
...
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Logout

The login works fine manually using FF - it's just the macro that hangs.

I tried to re-record the macro, in case the issue was that the router was asking for different login information, e.g. due to an upgrade of its firmware, but then iMacros failed even to record the login actions (user name and password) at all, something it could definitely do before.

I downgraded FF to 37.0.2 and the macro works and it can also record the login actions properly again, so I think the issue is with FF 38.0.1 and after, not iMacros for Firefox.

Expected results:

1. The existing macro should have been able to fill in the details in the 'Authentication Required' popup window.
2. iMacros should be able to record the login actions (user name and password) on this kind of popup window.

Other info:

With help from the nice people at Bugzilla I used mozregression and found that the bug was introduced in FF on January 14, 2015 (last good version was January 13, 2015).

I do have a second router on my network and tried the macro on that router too with the same result - it hangs. If you were looking to replicate the error maybe you could try using iMacros add-on to log in to a router on your own network? I think the router may be using micro httpd http://acme.com/software/micro_httpd/

One other thing I found is that the same macro works fine with iMacros add-on for IE, using what I think is the most recent version of IE.

I reported to Bugzilla (Bug 1169910) but they advised me to report it to this forum too.
chivracq
Posts: 8309
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by chivracq » Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:11 pm

cellarman wrote:In iMacros for Firefox I have a macro which logs into my broadband router, changes some settings and then logs out. It worked fine before I upgraded FF to 38.0.1 but since 38.0.1 the macro doesn't work any more.

I'm using iMacros for Firefox v. 8.9.2.1 signed

My OS is Windows 8.1 Pro. 64 bit OS, x64-based processor.

FF was 38.0.1 (since downgraded to 37.0.2).

Demo macros and other macros I wrote myself work fine.

Can't give URL of webpage as it's my router login page on my home network.

Same macro works fine in iMacros for IE.

Actual results:

The macro hangs when trying to fill in the user and password in the 'Authentication Required' popup window. Attached file shows the window. The macro is below:

Code: Select all

TAB T=1
SET !ENCRYPTION NO
ONLOGIN USER=****** PASSWORD=****** (I masked these for this report)
URL GOTO=http://192.168.0.1/sky_firewall_rules.html
...
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Logout 
The login works fine manually using FF - it's just the macro that hangs.

I tried to re-record the macro, in case the issue was that the router was asking for different login information, e.g. due to an upgrade of its firmware, but then iMacros failed even to record the login actions (user name and password) at all, something it could definitely do before.

I downgraded FF to 37.0.2 and the macro works and it can also record the login actions properly again, so I think the issue is with FF 38.0.1 and after, not iMacros for Firefox.

Expected results:

1. The existing macro should have been able to fill in the details in the 'Authentication Required' popup window.
2. iMacros should be able to record the login actions (user name and password) on this kind of popup window.

Other info:

With help from the nice people at Bugzilla I used mozregression and found that the bug was introduced in FF on January 14, 2015 (last good version was January 13, 2015).

I do have a second router on my network and tried the macro on that router too with the same result - it hangs. If you were looking to replicate the error maybe you could try using iMacros add-on to log in to a router on your own network? I think the router may be using micro httpd http://acme.com/software/micro_httpd/

One other thing I found is that the same macro works fine with iMacros add-on for IE, using what I think is the most recent version of IE.

I reported to Bugzilla (Bug 1169910) but they advised me to report it to this forum too.
Yep, known Issue related to FF38 (with iMacros for FF v8.9.2), it was reported already about 2 weeks ago, TechSupport aware of it...
There is some other Thread on the Forum about this Pb...
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
cellarman
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:02 pm

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by cellarman » Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:14 am

Thanks, chivracq, I found the post by KingTutt about what appears to be exactly the same issue http://forum.imacros.net/viewtopic.php? ... 399#p64399

It seems that iMacros support is investigating...
chivracq
Posts: 8309
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by chivracq » Sat Jun 27, 2015 3:53 pm

cellarman wrote:Thanks, chivracq, I found the post by KingTutt about what appears to be exactly the same issue http://forum.imacros.net/viewtopic.php? ... 399#p64399

It seems that iMacros support is investigating...
Yep, I guess you'll have to wait until a new Version comes out...
Good that you cross-referenced this current Thread to the original one (that TechSupport is probably following...).
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
skippyto
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:14 am

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by skippyto » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:01 pm

Hi cellarman !

You can use an addon for automating authentication instead of using iMacros onlogin command : https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... /autoauth/

Skippyto.
chivracq
Posts: 8309
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by chivracq » Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:04 am

skippyto wrote:Hi cellarman !

You can use an addon for automating authentication instead of using iMacros onlogin command : https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... /autoauth/

Skippyto.
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
cellarman
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:02 pm

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by cellarman » Sat Jul 11, 2015 8:12 am

Thanks skippto. I tried it and it works. I'll use it as a temporary workaround until those nice guys at iMacros support solve the ONLOGIN bug.
nickh21
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:35 pm

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by nickh21 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:41 pm

Any updates on this issue getting fixed?
ZmanZoo
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:24 pm

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by ZmanZoo » Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:17 pm

Are there any updates for this issue? this seems to be a critical glitch for a lot of people (searching bugzilla and here)
chivracq
Posts: 8309
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by chivracq » Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:56 pm

ZmanZoo wrote:Are there any updates for this issue? this seems to be a critical glitch for a lot of people (searching bugzilla and here)
Some Bug (or "Feature Change", coming from FF btw and not from iMacros) for which you have a Workaround cannot be that Critical, I would think...
(Without mentioning that you can revert to FF37 or use some Alternative Browser(s), like Pale Moon like I do...)

Ask the "lot of people" to come and post on the Forum in the Thread to put some "pressure" on TechSupport and Dev and/or give some Link(s) to the Thread(s) you refer to on Bugzilla... :idea:
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
Posts: 8309
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by chivracq » Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:27 pm

Some other User impacted by the same Issue:
- ONLOGIN/ONDIALOG not canceling - macro waits for user
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3481
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:36 pm

We just pushed out a new version of iMacros for Fireofx (v8.9.3) that fixes this issue. It will eventually be published in the official Firefox add-on repository, or you can download it now from our archive at:

http://wiki.imacros.net/iMacros_for_Fir ... on_History
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
rstancuna
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 10:27 pm

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by rstancuna » Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:18 pm

Firefox 55, iMacros V8.9.7, Windows

This doesn't seem to work for me, it just doesn't fill in the info on iMacros V8.9.7 .

Ended up having to use AutoAuth (firefox addons page doesn't have an old enough version but can be downloaded from https://legacycollector.org/firefox-add ... index.html ) but would prefer if there's a way to just use imacros.
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3481
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:50 am

Hi rstancuna,

Can you post the site where it is not working for you, or post the first few lines of your macro that performs the login (masking your credentials of course)?
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
rstancuna
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 10:27 pm

Re: Authentication issue since FF 38.0.1

Post by rstancuna » Mon Jun 24, 2019 5:18 pm

It's an internal website so can't make it public (also only accessible from a certain ip), but macro has just ONLOGIN and URL GOTO . Testing it in Current.iim , main thing would be to add it to my javascript macro but still won't login.

Code: Select all

ONLOGIN USER=****** PASSWORD=******
URL GOTO=https://XXXXXX/XXX

Code: Select all

macro="CODE:";
macro+="ONLOGIN USER=****** PASSWORD=******"+"\n";
macro+="URL GOTO=https://XXXXXX/XXX"+"\n"
iimPlay(macro);
Post Reply