Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros Firefox add-on.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
viking
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:22 am

Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by viking » Sun Jun 26, 2016 10:25 pm

Firefox fails to record a simple login macro here:
http://providentcu.org/index.asp?i=home

The recording stops after entering user ID. Not even EVENT mode works.
IE records the login fine though (and the recorded macro works in FF).

I have experienced this issue several times (FF fails but OK with IE).

I used: FF v47.0; iMacros v8.9.7; WIN7-64bit

EDIT: Also doesn't work with PaleMoon v25.7.3 (x86) & iMacros v8.8.2.1
chivracq
Posts: 9247
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by chivracq » Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:10 am

viking wrote:Firefox fails to record a simple login macro here:
http://providentcu.org/index.asp?i=home

The recording stops after entering user ID. Not even EVENT mode works.
IE records the login fine though (and the recorded macro works in FF).

I have experienced this issue several times (FF fails but OK with IE).

I used: FF v47.0; iMacros v8.9.7; WIN7-64bit

EDIT: Also doesn't work with PaleMoon v25.7.3 (x86) & iMacros v8.8.2.1
Hum..., the following Script works for me on those 2 FCI's (recorded on PM):

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=8820413 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=http://providentcu.org/index.asp?i=home
FRAME NAME="PageDisplay"
TAG POS=1 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=TXT:Sign<SP>On<SP>to
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:username CONTENT=hjghjghj
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:CHECKBOX FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:remember CONTENT=YES
TAG POS=1 TYPE=B ATTR=TXT:Sign<SP>On
(Recorded and tested on: iMacros for FF v8.8.2, Pale Moon v26.1.1 (=FF43), Win10-x64. // + Tested on iMacros for FF v8.9.6, FF45, Win10-x64.)
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
viking
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:22 am

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by viking » Mon Jun 27, 2016 8:41 am

Try the following (don't click on "Remember me".):
1. Enter a login name ("test"),
2. Press sign on,
3. Enter a password,
4. Press sign on again,
Here is what is recorded (default "Auto" mode):

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=8820413 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=http://providentcu.org/index.asp?i=home
FRAME NAME="PageDisplay"
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:username CONTENT=test
TAG POS=1 TYPE=B ATTR=TXT:Sign<SP>On
There is nothing recorded after the first click on "sign on" (step 2)
Shital, Tech Support
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:42 am

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by Shital, Tech Support » Mon Jul 04, 2016 7:37 am

Hi,

Thank you for using iMacros. I was able to reproduce the problem you have encountered and have opened a ticket for our development team to work on. Our development team shall look into having a fix for this issue in our future release. Kindly use the IE add-on as a solution until then. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Regards,
Shital, iMacros Support
techimac
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:27 pm

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by techimac » Mon Jul 04, 2016 10:46 pm

works for me in FIrefox

FRAME NAME="PageDisplay"
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:username CONTENT=aaaa
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:CHECKBOX FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:remember CONTENT=YES
viking
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:22 am

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by viking » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:46 am

techimac wrote:works for me in FIrefox

FRAME NAME="PageDisplay"
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:username CONTENT=aaaa
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:CHECKBOX FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:remember CONTENT=YES
It doesn't work. You only confirmed that FF can record the username and "Remember me". Please see my instructions above.
techimac
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:27 pm

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by techimac » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:50 am

Try in other system.
viking
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:22 am

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by viking » Tue Jul 05, 2016 7:08 pm

techimac wrote:Try in other system.
What other system? It works in IE but not FF or PaleMoon (which is based on FF).
iMacros tech support also confirmed (see post above by Shital).
If you are able to record the full sequence in FF as I wrote above above (steps 1-4), please post the recorded results.
techimac
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:27 pm

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by techimac » Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:40 pm

viking wrote:
techimac wrote:Try in other system.
What other system? It works in IE but not FF or PaleMoon (which is based on FF).
iMacros tech support also confirmed (see post above by Shital).
If you are able to record the full sequence in FF as I wrote above above (steps 1-4), please post the recorded results.

FRAME NAME="PageDisplay"
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:username CONTENT=aaaa
TAG POS=1 TYPE=B ATTR=TXT:Sign<SP>On
WAIT SECONDS=30
FRAME F=0
SET !ENCRYPTION NO
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:PASSWORD FORM=ID:aspnetForm ATTR=ID:M_content_PCDZ_MF3KFEF_ctl00_Password CONTENT=aaa
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ID:aspnetForm ATTR=ID:M_content_PCDZ_MF3KFEF_ctl00_cmdContinue
viking
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:22 am

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by viking » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:31 pm

techimac wrote:
viking wrote:
techimac wrote:Try in other system.
What other system? It works in IE but not FF or PaleMoon (which is based on FF).
iMacros tech support also confirmed (see post above by Shital).
If you are able to record the full sequence in FF as I wrote above above (steps 1-4), please post the recorded results.

FRAME NAME="PageDisplay"
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=ID:signonEntry ATTR=ID:username CONTENT=aaaa
TAG POS=1 TYPE=B ATTR=TXT:Sign<SP>On
WAIT SECONDS=30
FRAME F=0
SET !ENCRYPTION NO
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:PASSWORD FORM=ID:aspnetForm ATTR=ID:M_content_PCDZ_MF3KFEF_ctl00_Password CONTENT=aaa
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ID:aspnetForm ATTR=ID:M_content_PCDZ_MF3KFEF_ctl00_cmdContinue
I have never seen iMacros record a WAIT command. How did that happen?
techimac
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:27 pm

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by techimac » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:45 pm

viking wrote:I have never seen iMacros record a WAIT command. How did that happen?
You need to add it yourself.
First observe how web page responds after clicking element and make changes accordingly.
Whole script cant be done in single record every time.
viking
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:22 am

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by viking » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:21 pm

techimac wrote:
viking wrote:I have never seen iMacros record a WAIT command. How did that happen?
You need to add it yourself.
First observe how web page responds after clicking element and make changes accordingly.
Whole script cant be done in single record every time.
I see. Well, the point of my post was to illustrate that FF cannot record this simple login macro, but that IE can do that.
If IE can do it, I assume that it would be possible to fix the FF extension so that FF also works with a single recording.

Furthermore, if i need to insert a long wait command with FF, I prefer to use the IE recording which doesn't require such.
techimac
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:27 pm

Re: Firefox fails to record simple login Macro; IE works

Post by techimac » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:35 pm

wait command is optional.
I added it myself because didn't tested how page responds after first sign on click
Post Reply