'FILTER TYPE=IMAGES' crashes FF53/54...!

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros Firefox add-on.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
chivracq
Posts: 9180
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

'FILTER TYPE=IMAGES' crashes FF53/54...!

Post by chivracq » Sat Jun 17, 2017 4:17 pm

FCI:

Code: Select all

- iMacros for FF v8.9.7, FF53 (v53.0.3-x32), Win10-x64.
- iMacros for FF v8.9.7, FF54 (v54.0-x32), Win10-x64.
I use in several of my ('.iim') Macros the 'FILTER' Command to speed up Processing on some Pages with many (repeated) Images.
It used to work fine on iMacros for FF v8.9.7 + FF51, until I updated FF from FF51 to FF53 (=> I don't know if FF52 is impacted as well).
And I just updated FF53 to FF54, same Results...

On one Page with 800 times (1 image (of type '.GIF', not animated, 10Kb, repeated 800 times in 2 or 3 "variations") + 5 small Icons/Buttons of Types '.GIF' (not animated or '.PNG', each about 1Kb) => Total = 2500 Images, the Script/Browser will simply hang at the first 'URL GOTO' or Button performing an Action and reloading the whole Page.
=> The Browser is "dead" and can only be closed and restarts with the "We're sorry: Mozilla Crash Reporter".

Code: Select all

FILTER TYPE=IMAGES STATUS=ON
On one other Page which is a little bit less "heavy", with "only" 350 times some 10Kb '.GIF' (not animated) File in about 10 "variations" + 3 "little" 1Kb Buttons, Total = "only" about 1500 Images, the Browser does not crash, but Execution is very-very slow, FF uses constantly 50% CPU and I made some Benchmarking on that Page:
FF53/54 (+ iMacros for FF v8.9.7):
- Without 'FILTER'=ON: Load Page = 5 sec (avg).
- With 'FILTER'=ON: Load Page = 15-30 sec.
+ iMacros waits for some additional 5-10 sec (after the Page has been completely loaded) before jumping to the next Statement in the Script.

To compare, my "Prod" Environment on the same Site with the same Scripts on the same Machine (Win10-x64) is using:
Pale Moon v26.3.3 (=FF47) + iMacros v8.8.2:
- Without 'FILTER'=ON: Load Page = 2 sec (avg).
- With 'FILTER'=ON: Load Page = 0.5 sec.

And it was still working fine on FF51:
FF51 (+ iMacros for FF v8.9.7):
- Without 'FILTER'=ON: Load Page = 5 sec (avg).
- With 'FILTER'=ON: Load Page = 1.5 sec.

(In both (current) FCI's, 'permissions.default.image' remains with Value="1" all the time, independent of 'FILTER'=ON/OFF...)

The Site I am using those Scripts on is behind Login&Password, but I guess some Public Site(s) can be found with many Images to reproduce the Pb...

I would be interested btw if sbd could test/confirm the same Behaviour as well on FF53/54 using iMacros for FF v9.0.3...? :?:
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
chivracq
Posts: 9180
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: 'FILTER TYPE=IMAGES' crashes FF53/54...!

Post by chivracq » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:42 pm

Some Update and an "Excuse" to bump this Thread as nobody posted in the Thread to confirm my "Finding"...):
Still same Behaviour on FF55 v55.0.3. (+ always iMacros for FF v8.9.7 + Win10-x64).

On "heavy" Pages, the Script simply hangs, and the Browser with it, for ever, and FF eventually crashes or needs to be killed from Task Manager...

Nobody has encountered this Behaviour...!? :shock:

(I would actually also be interested to know if v9.0.3 is impacted or not...?)
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Post Reply