Upgrading to IE 10: You must upgrade to iMacros 9 first.

Support for iMacros. The iMacros software is the unique solution for automating every activity inside a web browser, for data extraction and web testing.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3513
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Upgrading to IE 10: You must upgrade to iMacros 9 first.

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Thu Mar 21, 2013 4:15 pm

Please be aware of the following when upgrading to Internet Explorer 10:

This post applies only to Windows 7 and Windows 2008R2 users, as these are the only two system on which Microsoft allows an upgrade to Internet Explorer 10.
  • Only iMacros 9 and later support IE 10
    The old iMacros plug-in for IE (the iMacros sidebar opens inside the browser) is not compatible with IE 10. iMacros 9 comes with the new external sidebar for automating IE that supports IE 8, 9, and 10.
  • If iMacros for IE is already installed when you upgrade to IE 10, you may encounter the following:
    1. If iMacros 9 is installed: You will not be able to open the iMacros sidebar using the icon on the command bar or by selecting iMacros V9 from the Tools menu, it will only open using the desktop shortcut
    2. If iMacros 8 is installed: IE crashes on startup
  • To remedy these issues, simply reinstall iMacros after upgrading to IE 10
    1. Close all open instances of IE
    2. Uninstall iMacros using the Windows Control Panel
    3. Reinstall iMacros using the iMacros installer
    4. When IE starts, click Enable in the IE information bar if prompted to enable iMacros
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
brachiopod
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:24 pm

Re: Upgrading to IE 10: You must upgrade to iMacros 9 first.

Post by brachiopod » Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:30 pm

I got a forced update to IE10, and followed these instructions to upgrade my iMacros installation. I had to uninstall the old iMacros version. However now my player license from the 5 pack that I bought does not work and I am back to the "free trial", and I don't see packs of player licenses on the sales page any more. Can we get some clarification on this? Is there still a player version of version 9? I just need a small number of licenses, not an unlimited package for $3000. Should my old key work? Are the packages still available? Appreciate some clarification on this. Thanks, Bryan
lakshmib
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:08 pm

Re: Upgrading to IE 10: You must upgrade to iMacros 9 first.

Post by lakshmib » Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:26 pm

I am having similar issue. My IE browser version got upgraded 10 automatically by windows updates. After that my script I have written using iMacros 8 stopped working. after reading about iMacros 9 comparability with IE 10, i upgraded to iMacors 9 (followed exact steps listed under this forum <http://forum.imacros.net/viewtopic.php?f= ... 03&p=51940>). But when i try to enter my license key, It says "Installation problem:can't check license key. and reinstall again (already did 2 times). When i click on iMacro icon on IE 10 browser nothing happens.
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3513
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Upgrading to IE 10: You must upgrade to iMacros 9 first.

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:24 am

brachiopod wrote:I got a forced update to IE10, and followed these instructions to upgrade my iMacros installation. I had to uninstall the old iMacros version. However now my player license from the 5 pack that I bought does not work and I am back to the "free trial", and I don't see packs of player licenses on the sales page any more. Can we get some clarification on this? Is there still a player version of version 9? I just need a small number of licenses, not an unlimited package for $3000. Should my old key work? Are the packages still available? Appreciate some clarification on this. Thanks, Bryan
Hi Bryan, since you are already a customer, please open a support ticket to discuss this issue.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3513
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Upgrading to IE 10: You must upgrade to iMacros 9 first.

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:27 am

lakshmib wrote: But when i try to enter my license key, It says "Installation problem:can't check license key. and reinstall again (already did 2 times). When i click on iMacro icon on IE 10 browser nothing happens.
Please open a support ticket and provide your license key and we'll help you troubleshoot this issue.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
agordon10
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:10 pm

Re: Upgrading to IE 10: You must upgrade to iMacros 9 first.

Post by agordon10 » Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:22 pm

windows update forced IE10 on me.

I cannot get imacros to install even after uninstalling and reinstalling.

Even the shortcut for Imacros 10 for IE just opens a blank IE page.
Post Reply