Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Support for iMacros. The iMacros software is the unique solution for automating every activity inside a web browser, for data extraction and web testing.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
sightunseen
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:54 am

Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Post by sightunseen » Tue May 07, 2013 3:15 am

I occasionally see frames like this:
FRAME NAME="app_runner_fb_httpsb21b418de5802ebad9367c9"
I want to do this:
FRAME NAME="app_runner_fb_https*"
That doesn't work but I can do this:
FRAME F=1

Thanks
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3577
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Tue May 07, 2013 8:40 am

Hi sightunseen,

This is already on our feature request list and will be implemented in the next release of iMacros!
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
wviswildandwonderful
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Post by wviswildandwonderful » Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:46 pm

has this been fixed? I cant get it to play back when it records app_runner_fb_https
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3577
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:46 pm

Hi wviswildandwonderful,

You can now use wildcards in the NAME parameter with the release of iMacros V9.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
sightunseen
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:54 am

Re: Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Post by sightunseen » Sat Sep 21, 2013 2:39 am

Tom, iOpus wrote:You can now use wildcards in the NAME parameter with the release of iMacros V9.
Are you going to add this to the firefox plugin? I'm using the latest plugin as of 09-20-2013, version 8.5.1:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefo ... r-firefox/

This still doesn't work:
FRAME NAME="app_runner*"
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3577
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:10 am

Hi sightunseen,

FRAME NAME does work in iMacros for Firefox, for example:

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=8510617 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=http://demo.imacros.net/Automate/Frames
FRAME NAME="contents"
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:3 ATTR=* CONTENT=Test
However, using a wildcard in the frame name will be supported in a subsequent release.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
wviswildandwonderful
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Post by wviswildandwonderful » Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:01 pm

Wildcard for frames in FF yet? Just asking because I cant get it to work. Thanks
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3577
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Can you add wildcard support to frame names?

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:15 am

Hi wviswildandwonderful,

Yes, wildcards are currently supported in the frame name. For example:

Code: Select all

URL GOTO=http://demo.imacros.net/Automate/Frames
FRAME NAME="bot*"
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:8 ATTR=* CONTENT="Bottom Frame"
If you have an example that is not working, please share it with us!
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Post Reply