Page 1 of 1

Automatically open imacros sidebar when opening IE

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 10:11 pm
by zirjeo
WIndows 10, IE11, VERSION BUILD=11.5.498.2403

As Subject suggests how can I make this happen? Can't seem to find any clear info about this, seems it should be simple.

Re: Automatically open imacros sidebar when opening IE

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:46 pm
by IrishMacro
I'm not sure, you would probably have to use some desktop macro tool to make this happen

Re: Automatically open imacros sidebar when opening IE

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:57 am
by chivracq
zirjeo wrote:WIndows 10, IE11, VERSION BUILD=11.5.498.2403

As Subject suggests how can I make this happen? Can't seem to find any clear info about this, seems it should be simple.
IrishMacro wrote:I'm not sure, you would probably have to use some desktop macro tool to make this happen
Yeah, I didn't react to this Thread because I didn't have any real Answer/Solution, and it was maybe 1 year ago last time I did some Testing on IE on my previous Laptop (Win7-x64) which died a few months ago, even if hum, it's Winter now, it might want to start again, ah-ah...!, Ventilo/Cooler was dead and it was heating up too quickly and switching itself automatically during the Summer and I'm not even sure if I had v10 or already v11 installed, and I didn't bother to reinstall IE on my new Laptop (Win10-x64)... (And I don't know IE's (Internal) "Guts" that much anyway, like I know FF's, ah-ah...!)

But hum, @IrishMacro gave me an idea..., ah-ah...! 8)
Yep, possible...!, if you start IE from a Windows Shortcut (or a '.BAT' File) on your Desktop for example from which you launch as well automatically some mini-Macro triggering 'F8' with the 'EVENT' Mode which is now supported in iMacros for IE v11.
This Approach could be "problematic" on FF which remembers if the iMacros Side-Panel was open or not and will toggle it open/close but it should work on IE, I think, if IE always starts with iMacros deactivated...! 8)

Re: Automatically open imacros sidebar when opening IE

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:18 am
by zirjeo
Figured I was over thinking this. Just went in and made a desktop shortcut for..

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Ipswitch\iMacros\iMacros.Sidebar.exe"

It opens IE and the sidebar.

Re: Automatically open imacros sidebar when opening IE

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:30 am
by chivracq
zirjeo wrote:Figured I was over thinking this. Just went in and made a desktop shortcut for..

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Ipswitch\iMacros\iMacros.Sidebar.exe"

It opens IE and the sidebar.
OK, so the mini-Macro with 'F8' is not even needed, and actually it is definitely not needed as it would close the iMacros Side-Panel again, ah-ah...! :cry: