Opening vs. Saving Download File.

Support for iMacros. The iMacros software is the unique solution for automating every activity inside a web browser, for data extraction and web testing.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Aviator

Opening vs. Saving Download File.

Post by Aviator » Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:12 am

Hi Everyone,

I'm a total newbie here but I've started using iMacros already and love it!

I'm having difficulty with one area that I just can't seem to figure out:

I'm downloading a file from a web site. When I record the macro, I tell it I want to Open the file (not Save it or Cancel it) when it downloads. But when I go to play the macro, it ignores what I've recorded and automatically Saves the file in an iMacros download folder, with the date and time appended to the file name.

I think the culprit is the following line that got recorded in the macro: ONDOWNLOAD FOLDER=* FILE=+_{{!NOW:yyyymmdd_hhnnss}}
But I don't know how to fix it. No matter how many times I delete and re-record the macro I get the line above.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Tech Support

Re: Opening vs. Saving Download File.

Post by Tech Support » Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:40 pm

I'm a total newbie here but I've started using iMacros already and love it!
When I record the macro, I tell it I want to Open the file (not Save it or Cancel it) when it downloads.
At the moment, iMacros can "only" download the file. Can I ask why you want to open it? Maybe there is a workaround.
Aviator

Post by Aviator » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:05 am