Page 1 of 1

Modify user agent

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:29 pm
by Ted
I want to be able to modify the user-agent string - this is simple with ie - ie the registry, but you have the browser option.

Is there a variable I can set that will define the user-agent to use? If not where do you set it? is it hard coded or is there a workaround I could do - changing registry/ini files etc?

Thanks,
Ted

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:43 pm
by Tech Support
You can just modify the IE user agent. In stealth mode IIM will use the IE user agent settings as its own!

For more details see also http://www.iopus.com/iim/help/faq_ie.htm

Re: Modify user agent

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:26 pm
by Rohit
Ted wrote:I want to be able to modify the user-agent string - this is simple with ie - ie the registry, but you have the browser option.

Is there a variable I can set that will define the user-agent to use? If not where do you set it? is it hard coded or is there a workaround I could do - changing registry/ini files etc?

Thanks,
Ted
Delete this key that iopus creates when it installs from the registry and your useragent will go to IE

hklm/software/microsoft/windows/currentversion/internetsettings/useragent/postplatform

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:54 am
by Tech Support
Rohit, thanks for this hint. But this undocumented workaround works only in the full version of Internet Macros (not the TRIAL version). And it might not work in future versions of Internet Macros and/or Internet Explorer.

Using Stealth Mode is the documented and recommended way to simulate IE 100%.