protect or obfuscate imacro

Support for iMacros. The iMacros software is the unique solution for automating every activity inside a web browser, for data extraction and web testing.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by giorgio79 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:15 pm

Hello,

I am building an app for sale that wil create special purpose imacros.

My only option of hiding this code from the users is using the scripting edition with the "CODE..." calls?

I would like to use the Imacros for Firefox free version, not to put off any users with the high price tag for the scripting version, but then they can see the created imacros easily.

Any ideas? Could I load into Firefox memory the imacros straight away?
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
coolcocky
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:45 pm

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by coolcocky » Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:32 pm

hi,

even while using scripting edition, you can run the macros either in internet explorer or firefox see syntax for iimplay() method

hope this helps

just my 2 cents

regards,

cool
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by giorgio79 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:36 pm

As I mentioned, I would like users to run imacros in the memory without the Scripting edition which is almost 500 bucks.

So to recap, how can I run imacros from memory in free edition, or at least be able to obfuscate imacros output or protect it somehow.

The ultimate goal is "how to protect my imacro" :)
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:09 pm

Hello,

You can use Javascript to play your macro. E.g.

Code: Select all

macro = "CODE:";macro = "CODE:";
macro += "URL GOTO=http://wiki.imacros.net" + jsLF;
macro += "WAIT SECONDS=" + MyDelay + jsLF;
macro += "URL GOTO=http://wiki.imacros.net/iMacros_for_Firefox";

retcode = iimPlay(macro);
And then you can obfuscate the JavaScript code.

Best regards,
Daniel, iOpus Support
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by giorgio79 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:10 pm

Thanks Daniel. Looks great.

If I start firefox by calling the js script with run.imacros.net this will be a great solution. Will be testing soon.
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:54 pm

Great! Please share the results with us! :)
Daniel, iOpus Support
Claudiu
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:16 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by Claudiu » Mon Apr 12, 2010 11:51 am

i can't see how this can be called obfuscating .. i'd appreciate some light on this ..

as far as i can see the javasript calls the .iim file which can be seen by the average joe and can easily can run the .iim file from within his browser without the js file.

unless the .iim file can be ran through a server .. like the user would call the .iim file from my server and won't be able to download this file on his own server ...

again .. i'd appreciate some light on this as i'm thinking at obfuscating my scripts that i want to share with other community members.

Daniel, iOpus wrote:Hello,

You can use Javascript to play your macro. E.g.

Code: Select all

macro = "CODE:";macro = "CODE:";
macro += "URL GOTO=http://wiki.imacros.net" + jsLF;
macro += "WAIT SECONDS=" + MyDelay + jsLF;
macro += "URL GOTO=http://wiki.imacros.net/iMacros_for_Firefox";

retcode = iimPlay(macro);
And then you can obfuscate the JavaScript code.

Best regards,
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:47 pm

Hello,

As you seen in my example, you don't have to store the macro in .iim, but you can make it a part of .js file. This is JavaScript code that forms a macro, stores it in a variable and then runs it.

Code: Select all

macro = "CODE:";macro = "CODE:";
macro += "URL GOTO=http://wiki.imacros.net" + jsLF;
macro += "WAIT SECONDS=" + MyDelay + jsLF;
macro += "URL GOTO=http://wiki.imacros.net/iMacros_for_Firefox";

retcode = iimPlay(macro);
And naturally, when you obfuscate your .js file, macro source will also be obfuscated.

Best regards,
Daniel, iOpus Support
Claudiu
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:16 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by Claudiu » Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:49 pm

ok, i've re-done some tests and it's ok now .. ty for your help
Daniel, iOpus wrote:Hello,

As you seen in my example, you don't have to store the macro in .iim, but you can make it a part of .js file. This is JavaScript code that forms a macro, stores it in a variable and then runs it.

Best regards,
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:53 pm

You are very welcome!
Daniel, iOpus Support
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by giorgio79 » Sat Jul 17, 2010 8:32 pm

Daniel, I noticed that even if I obfuscate, the current imacro is always saved in #current.iim file. All the user needs to do is stop or pause the script, and copy it out from there... Ouch.
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:32 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately I don't know of any better way to protect the macro in Firefox... Well, what you could do is play the macro piece after piece, so that the whole macro is never in .iim, but of course a user could simply collect all the parts together. You could also hide some logic in JavaScript, so that it doesn't work when played as pure macro. For anything more advanced you would need to use Scripting Edition, which can, among other things, run in silent mode.

By the way
I would like to use the iMacros for Firefox free version, not to put off any users with the high price tag for the scripting version
You can get an unlimited player license and deploy that to users. Here is more info:
http://www.iopus.com/imacros/compare/#player

Best regards,
Daniel, iOpus Support
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by giorgio79 » Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:25 am

Thanks Daniel, I might just stick to chopping up imacros to parts so it would be more difficult to piece it together.

Also, I notice in v7 of imacros there is an option:
" Hide GUI toolbar / sidebar with iimInit ("-kioskmode") "

Wonder if this could be made a command for the free player, or perhaps for run.imacros.net we could pass in a variable that would enable hiding the GUI. :)
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:23 am

Hi,

Exactly, you can use the kioskmode in v7, even with the Player version!

Best regards,
Daniel, iOpus Support
giorgio79
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

Re: protect or obfuscate imacro

Post by giorgio79 » Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:15 am

Daniel, could we have a setting or an option which would disable saving the running imacro in the current.iim file?

That would help as well :)

Something like

SET !DISABLE_CURRENT_SAVE
Share your imacros easily http://www.sharemacro.com/imacro-directory
Internet Marketing imacros http://www.sharemacro.com
Post Reply