macro freezes

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros for Chrome extension.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
Colibry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

macro freezes

Post by Colibry » Sun Sep 25, 2011 7:15 pm

Hello,
I made a macro in chrome and it works great. But from time to time it freezes. I know there is command to set the maximum amount of time that macro runs and after that it gives out error. the !SETERRORIGNORE command doesn't work in this case. The macro doesn't restart. So is there a way to set the time limit of macros and after that it restarts?

Oh, and how about good turtorial about using JavaScript or VB or C# in imacros? I want to be able to make a good macro using JS,VB or C# so if anyone can help me please do. :)

Please respond to my questions.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Tech Support » Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:43 pm

First, iMacros should not freeze! Please post the macro and we will test.

Second, the iimPlay (macro, timeout) command allows you specify a timeout value. If the browser does not respond with that time (for whatever reason, this includes freezes by the browser itself or e. g. Flash), the scripting interface terminates the browser and reports the error back to you.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Tech Support » Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:43 pm

For C# examples please see http://wiki.imacros.net/Sample_Code
Colibry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Colibry » Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:55 pm

I think macro freezes because virtual memory becomes to low. I'll solve the problem somehow. Secondly I found a way to turn my regular macro I record into javascript , by using example on this forum and I used the command iimPlay to make it restart itself every 120 seconds. But the problem is this. These comand work in regular macro.

Code: Select all

TAG POS=1 TYPE=LABEL ATTR=CLASS:mlm<SP>mainButton<SP>uiButton&&TXT:

TAG POS=1 TYPE=BUTTON ATTR=TXT:I've<SP>Liked<SP>this<SP>Page!
But when I turn it into js they don't and they look like this.

Code: Select all

macro +=   "TAG POS=1 TYPE=LABEL ATTR=CLASS:mlm<SP>mainButton<SP>uiButton&&TXT:" + "\n";

macro +=   "TAG POS=1 TYPE=BUTTON  ATTR=TXT:I've<SP>Liked<SP>this<SP>Page!" + "\n";
Now other TAG command work , like TYPE=A, just fine. But TYPE=CLASS and TXT don't. So in iim they do, in js they don't. The js macro works just fine, it doesn't give any error message but when it comes to clicking the buttons it's suppose to it doesn't.

Note, these were tested in FireFox not Chrome, but I did't want to open another topic. Any help please?
Colibry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Colibry » Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:02 pm

I would really like a response to my question. It's been over 5 days since I posted it. Thanks.
MattBell7
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: macro freezes

Post by MattBell7 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 2:47 pm

try replacing

+ "\n"

with:

+ jsLF
Colibry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Colibry » Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:07 pm

Error jsLF n ot deffined.That's the result I get.
MattBell7
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: macro freezes

Post by MattBell7 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:32 am

lol, i missed the bit from my script that says:

var jsLF = "\n";

so not really any use at all...

what does the rest of your script look like?
Colibry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Colibry » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:19 pm

Code: Select all

var macro;
macro =  "CODE:";
macro +=  "SET !ERRORIGNORE YES" + "\n";
macro +=  "TAB T=1" + "\n";
macro +=  "SET !TIMEOUT_MACRO 125" + "\n";
macro +=  "TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS" + "\n";
macro +=  "URL GOTO=http://www.youlikehits.com/stats.php" + "\n";
macro +=  "WAIT SECONDS=3" + "\n";
macro +=   "TAG POS=1 TYPE=A  ATTR=TXT:Facebook" + "\n";
macro +=  "WAIT SECONDS=3" + "\n";
macro +=   "TAG POS=1 TYPE=A  ATTR=TXT:Like" + "\n";
macro +=   "WAIT SECONDS=5" + "\n";
macro +=   "TAG POS=1 TYPE=A  ATTR=TXT:Like" + "\n";
macro +=   "TAB T=2" + "\n";
macro +=    "WAIT SECONDS=8" + "\n";
macro +=  "FRAME F=1" + "\n";
macro +=   "TAG POS=1 TYPE=LABEL ATTR=CLASS:mlm<SP>mainButton<SP>uiButton&&TXT:" + "\n";
macro +=   "TAB T=1" + "\n";
macro +=    "WAIT SECONDS=10" + "\n";
macro +=  "FRAME F=1" + "\n";
macro +=   "TAG POS=1 TYPE=BUTTON  ATTR=TXT:I've<SP>Liked<SP>this<SP>Page!" + "\n";
macro +=    "WAIT SECONDS=5" + "\n";
macro +=  "SET !ERRORIGNORE NO" + "\n";

var i;

for (i=1; i <= 999; i++)
{
   iimPlay(macro, 120)
}


I think you're gonna realize what it does. :) The first two likes are ok but the Third, and confirm don't work.
Colibry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Colibry » Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:24 pm

Any solutions.? :)
Colibry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Colibry » Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:21 pm

Another problem. Why does javascript macro close firefox window if it misses few command lines? It just so happens if macro misses a line or two becaus a page was loading too long it closes. Any way to stop that?
Colibry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Colibry » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:29 am

Will I get a proper response here please? I have the same problem. When I turn macro into javascript , js closes window in which it works. Sometimes even after one loop. Please help me.
inter
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:43 pm

Re: macro freezes

Post by inter » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:02 pm

In my experience it hasn't been necessary to add + "\n"; to the end of a line, but rather make it part of the macro line itself i.e. macro += "SET !ERRORIGNORE YES\n";.

Not sure if this will help or not, but that's the way my macros are set up.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: macro freezes

Post by Tech Support » Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:50 pm

Please try again with our latest beta version (V4.00): http://wiki.imacros.net/iMacros_for_Chr ... on_History
Post Reply