Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros for Chrome extension.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
tonnyb01
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:22 pm

Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by tonnyb01 » Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:58 pm

Using tab Buttons on an HTML page

Using the free Chrome attachment.
Windows 7 64 bit
Chrome Version 52.0.2743.116 m

I have a Imacros script that activates a button which sends data to a server, which then sends data back to me. The data submission retrieval part is handled by a php script. Sometime the sever takes too long and the Imacros script times out. How do I get the Imacros script to wait for the info to load before executing the BACK command? I am currently using the WAIT SECONDS command to get this to work but sometimes 1 sec isn't enough and the script times out; it seems that there must be a better way to do this. Here is part of the current script I am using.

VERSION BUILD=8350307 RECORDER=CR
URL GOTO=http://localhost/asin3.htm
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton
WAIT SECONDS = 1
BACK
TAG POS=2 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton
WAIT SECONDS = 1
BACK
TAG POS=3 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton
WAIT SECONDS = 1
BACK

...

TAG POS=160 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton
WAIT SECONDS = 1
BACK
...

Thanks
iimfun
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:06 pm

Re: Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by iimfun » Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:03 am

1. First of all I recommend rewriting the macro so that you could play it in loop mode

Code: Select all

SET locUrl http://localhost/asin3.htm
SET currUrl EVAL("({{!LOOP}} == 1) ? '{{locUrl}}' : 'javascript:void(0);';")
URL GOTO={{currUrl}}

TAG POS={{!LOOP}} TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton
WAIT SECONDS=1
BACK
2. Let's assume that the server response is something like "... Submission is OK ! ...". So your macro may look like

Code: Select all

' max extra time to wait for the server response
SET !TIMEOUT_STEP 3
SET locUrl http://localhost/asin3.htm
SET currUrl EVAL("({{!LOOP}} == 1) ? '{{locUrl}}' : 'javascript:void(0);';")
URL GOTO={{currUrl}}

TAG POS={{!LOOP}} TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton
WAIT SECONDS=1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=BODY ATTR=TXT:*OK*
BACK
I think the idea is clear.
tonnyb01
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by tonnyb01 » Thu Aug 11, 2016 4:59 pm

Thanks or replying. Your help is appreciated.

I tried to run the code in the first panel exactly as you wrote it and got

RuntimeError: element INPUT specified by NAME:Submitbutton was not found, line: 5

Anthony
iimfun
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:06 pm

Re: Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by iimfun » Fri Aug 12, 2016 8:27 am

Does the following code work fine in usual mode?

Code: Select all

SET locUrl http://localhost/asin3.htm
SET currUrl EVAL("({{!LOOP}} == 1) ? '{{locUrl}}' : 'javascript:void(0);';")
URL GOTO={{currUrl}}

TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton EXTRACT=TXT
TAG POS=2 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton EXTRACT=TXT
TAG POS=3 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton EXTRACT=TXT
tonnyb01
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by tonnyb01 » Fri Aug 12, 2016 9:57 am

This code works fine. It extracts the name of the button called by TAG POS = command.
iimfun
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:06 pm

Re: Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by iimfun » Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:37 pm

OK. And what about this macro played both in usual and loop modes?

Code: Select all

SET locUrl http://localhost/asin3.htm
SET currUrl EVAL("({{!LOOP}} == 1) ? '{{locUrl}}' : 'javascript:void(0);';")
URL GOTO={{currUrl}}

TAG POS={{!LOOP}} TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ACTION:a2.php ATTR=NAME:Submitbutton EXTRACT=TXT
tonnyb01
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by tonnyb01 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 11:19 am

I get the looping but it doesn't extract the text. I get #EANF# each time instead of the button "txt." In fact the loop's command to extract the text times out and then repeatedly present the extract box with #EANF#.
tonnyb01
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by tonnyb01 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 11:19 am

I really appreciate you taking the time to help me with this.
iimfun
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:06 pm

Re: Using tab Buttons on an HTML page - timeout

Post by iimfun » Mon Aug 15, 2016 9:29 am

The last code must work and I can't guess what may be wrong. However the loop problem wasn't your main issue. What d'you think about the idea from the 2nd part of my first post here?
Post Reply