How do I deal with a form with changing POS?

Discussions and Tech Support related to the iMacros Google Chrome extension.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
dopplegl

How do I deal with a form with changing POS?

Post by dopplegl » Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:30 pm

iMacros Extension for Chrome 8.4.4
Chrome Version 53.0.2785.116 (64-bit)
macOS Sierra 10.12

I am very new to this (started today in fact), but despite forum searching, couldn't find the answer to my question.

A part of my job involves tedious repetitive entry of numerical values in to a form on Chrome and I was thrilled when I got iMarcros to work in my favor today. The problem was, when I navigated to a different part of the application (but to the same form), I found that info was being entered in the wrong place. It seems that because any time I change instances, the POS numbers change. I recorded doing the same things in different places (and in some cases--the same place), and every time I get a different POS # for the same fields. Is there any way to have it ignore POS but somehow still find the right field? Some examples are below of what I mean.

Recording 1:
TAG POS=18 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT ATTR=* CONTENT=10.4
TAG POS=1 TYPE=SELECT ATTR=TXT:NormalHighLowAbnormalCritical<SP>HighCritical<SP>LowVery* CONTENT=%Normal
TAG POS=20 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT ATTR=* CONTENT=3.8
TAG POS=21 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT ATTR=* CONTENT=10.8
TAG POS=1 TYPE=BUTTON ATTR=TXT:Next

Recording 2:
TAG POS=16 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT ATTR=* CONTENT=10.4