!VAR1 length

Discussions and Tech Support related to the iMacros Google Chrome extension.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the Google search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed. This will search the entire contents of the forums as well as the iMacros Wiki.
3. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information:

CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST

Answering your own posts (e.g. attempting to "bump" your topic) drops your topic from the list of unanswered threads, so it may actually receive less views.
Post Reply
les_stockton
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:30 pm

!VAR1 length

Post by les_stockton » Fri Oct 19, 2018 1:29 pm

WINDOWS 10
CHROME Versió 67.0.3396.99 (64 bits)
iMacro Version 10.0.2

I have a simple question. Shouldn't matter which OS or browser, and in fact, I'm hoping the solution is browser independent.

I want to set a variable to the length of a variable (!COL1 or !VAR1, as an example).
I'm getting errors that the syntax I am using doesn't work, although I've seen this as an example for how to do it.

Code: Select all

SET !VAR1 EVAL("{{!COL1}}.length")
any ideas on a better way?
chivracq
Posts: 7877
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: !VAR1 length

Post by chivracq » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:03 pm

les_stockton wrote:

Code: Select all

WINDOWS 10
CHROME Versió 67.0.3396.99 (64 bits)
iMacro Version 10.0.2
I have a simple question. Shouldn't matter which OS or browser, and in fact, I'm hoping the solution is browser independent.

I want to set a variable to the length of a variable (!COL1 or !VAR1, as an example).
I'm getting errors that the syntax I am using doesn't work, although I've seen this as an example for how to do it.

Code: Select all

SET !VAR1 EVAL("{{!COL1}}.length")
any ideas on a better way?
Current Version for CR is actually v10.0.5 btw... :wink:

But yep, I use that Functionality myself in several of my own Scripts, using some slightly different Syntax...:

Code: Select all

SET !VAR1 EVAL("var c1='{{!COL1}}'; var z=c1.length; z;")
PROMPT COL1:<SP>_{{!COL1}}_<BR>Length:<SP>{{!VAR1}}
(Not tested...)
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
les_stockton
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:30 pm

Re: !VAR1 length

Post by les_stockton » Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:06 pm

I think your syntax is better. thanx
chivracq
Posts: 7877
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: !VAR1 length

Post by chivracq » Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:25 pm

les_stockton wrote:I think your syntax is better. thanx
"My" Syntax is "always" better..., ah-ah...!, or at least works...!, I've tested it, I use it myself... (Meant a bit as a "Joke", but I guess I'm still a bit "right"... :wink: )

Glad I could help btw...! :D
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
Post Reply