CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros for Chrome extension.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
conoscenti900
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:54 pm

CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by conoscenti900 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:48 am

Hi,

Here are my system specs

Windows 10 Home 64-Bit (latest version with November 2019 Updates)
iMacros 10.0.5 Personal Edition
Google Version 79.0.3945.36 (Official Build) beta (64-bit)
Google Version 80 (64-bit) Developer

I am noticing a problem with the latest Google Chrome versions in Windows 10 where if a macro is running data from a CSV file, the fields will not populate unless Google Chrome is in active view on the main desktop at all times and cannot be minimized, so if you decide to make a new Desktop which you can simply just click the "Task View" button on the bottom left and make a new Desktop in Windows 10 so you can do other work and let the macro do it's work in the other desktop the fields will not populate for some reason unless it's working on the main desktop at all times in view and cannot be minimized. I am trying to find out if this is some problem with iMacros or some setting that Google has made in there browser where the browser always has to be in active view at all times else CSV data fails to populate into the browser, all other macro function work fine. If anyone knows any solution or if there is an setting in Chrome or Windows I have to change please let me know.

So basically from what I found you cannot make a new desktop else CSV data fails to populate nor you cannot minimize chrome else csv files seem not to populate.
chivracq
Posts: 9721
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by chivracq » Sun Nov 17, 2019 3:01 am

conoscenti900 wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:48 am
Hi,

Here are my system specs

Code: Select all

Windows 10 Home 64-Bit (latest version with November 2019 Updates)
iMacros 10.0.5 Personal Edition
Google Version 79.0.3945.36 (Official Build) beta (64-bit)
Google Version 80 (64-bit) Developer
I am noticing a problem with the latest Google Chrome versions in Windows 10 where if a macro is running data from a CSV file, the fields will not populate unless Google Chrome is in active view on the main desktop at all times and cannot be minimized, so if you decide to make a new Desktop which you can simply just click the "Task View" button on the bottom left and make a new Desktop in Windows 10 so you can do other work and let the macro do it's work in the other desktop the fields will not populate for some reason unless it's working on the main desktop at all times in view and cannot be minimized. I am trying to find out if this is some problem with iMacros or some setting that Google has made in there browser where the browser always has to be in active view at all times else CSV data fails to populate into the browser, all other macro function work fine. If anyone knows any solution or if there is an setting in Chrome or Windows I have to change please let me know.

So basically from what I found you cannot make a new desktop else CSV data fails to populate nor you cannot minimize chrome else csv files seem not to populate.

I'm "soft"-alerting TechSup to have a look at your Thread... (will only happen after the WE... :wink: )

A few mini-Qt's/Precisions...:
1_a- You seem to pinpoint the Issue to being related to using a '.CSV' DataSource, can you reproduce as well with the 'Fill-Web-from-csv' Demo...? (TechSup will need a Script to reproduce...)

1_b- If Answer to '1_a' is "NO", post a Script for TechSup to be able to reproduce your Issue..., or they and Nobody will not be able to help you... :idea:

2- You mention "with the latest Chrome versions" and you mention CR79 + CR80_Dev in your FCI, was it still working "OK" until CR78...?

3- You opened your Thread in the 'iMacros for CR' Sub-Forum, depending on the Answer to my previous Qt, did you try to check also in some other Browser(s)...? (Your 'PE' License works also on FF[56-70(+)] with v10.0.2 for FF, and IE also (v12.5)...)

Try to answer those Qt's before TechSup will notice my Alert and will have a look at your Thread, most important Qt is Qt_1 (a+b)... :!:

(The TechSup Specialist for "your Area" was on Holiday for 2 weeks and will be coming back on Monday, will probably have a "quick Check" at the Forum, and might do some Testing for this Thread but only if he already has all relevant Info, or a Reply might come only several days later, especially if he has to ask you for some extra-Info... :idea: )
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
conoscenti900
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:54 pm

Re: CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by conoscenti900 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 12:50 pm

1. Yes the problem is with .CSV DataSource files, from testing several future Chrome versions from Beta, Developer and Canary. The scripts I use are set to repeat the script several times iterating through the .CSV file hundreds of lines. You can try a web form demo as a testing method just have a good size .CSV file so it can iterate several times. Leaving the browser in active view at all times works with no problems. But trying to make a new desktop in Windows 10 and leaving it running in the other desktop while you do other work in the other causes the .CSV problem until you open the desktop where the macro is working and the .CSV function starts working back again.

2. The regular version of Chrome appeared to work fine with version 78, but as Google is rolling out future versions of Chrome this is something that is concerning and might be staying. I noticed this behavior in Beta, Developer and Canary in all future versions of Chrome up to 80.

3. I only use Google Chrome since it's the only one that best supports the upload function and works nice and smooth without any problems,. I used Firefox in the past but it does not support the upload function. Overall I do not see any issues with running macros in Chrome, I just hate having to have Google Chrome open in active view and cannot minimize it or leave it in another desktop where .CSV data stops populating it has to be in view at all times.

It maybe a setting that Chrome has introduced in future versions where if Chrome is not in active view it puts it into some idle state I guess to conserve memory or something that may have to be enabled or disabled in the browser or something Windows introduced. I will keep testing but if you find anything just let me know.

Thanks
chivracq
Posts: 9721
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by chivracq » Sun Nov 17, 2019 3:08 pm

conoscenti900 wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 12:50 pm
1. Yes the problem is with .CSV DataSource files, from testing several future Chrome versions from Beta, Developer and Canary. The scripts I use are set to repeat the script several times iterating through the .CSV file hundreds of lines. You can try a web form demo as a testing method just have a good size .CSV file so it can iterate several times. Leaving the browser in active view at all times works with no problems. But trying to make a new desktop in Windows 10 and leaving it running in the other desktop while you do other work in the other causes the .CSV problem until you open the desktop where the macro is working and the .CSV function starts working back again.

2. The regular version of Chrome appeared to work fine with version 78, but as Google is rolling out future versions of Chrome this is something that is concerning and might be staying. I noticed this behavior in Beta, Developer and Canary in all future versions of Chrome up to 80.

3. I only use Google Chrome since it's the only one that best supports the upload function and works nice and smooth without any problems,. I used Firefox in the past but it does not support the upload function. Overall I do not see any issues with running macros in Chrome, I just hate having to have Google Chrome open in active view and cannot minimize it or leave it in another desktop where .CSV data stops populating it has to be in view at all times.

It maybe a setting that Chrome has introduced in future versions where if Chrome is not in active view it puts it into some idle state I guess to conserve memory or something that may have to be enabled or disabled in the browser or something Windows introduced. I will keep testing but if you find anything just let me know.

Thanks

"It maybe a setting that Chrome has introduced in future versions where if Chrome is not in active view it puts it into some idle state I guess to conserve memory or something that may have to be enabled or disabled in the browser..."
=> Oh...!, yep indeed...!, I recently read stg about that indeed...
You may want to have a look at the 'Chrome Developer Mode' if you maybe have more Control on this "Behaviour", or at "chrome://flags" if you see some Advanced/Experimental Setting that might be related... :idea:

I've soft-alerted TechSup to have a look at your Thread, hopefully tomorrow on Monday after the WE..., and I cannot do any Testing myself anyway, I don't have the 'PE' Version... :wink:

And if the "Behaviour" comes come Win10, OK, you've "more or less" mentioned your exact Win10 Version:

Code: Select all

Windows 10 Home 64-Bit (latest version with November 2019 Updates)
=> So that will be v1909, I reckon..., as "latest" is always a bit vague... (Or you may want to mention the exact Build, just to be "sure"..., as I'm not completely certain v1909 already gets pushed to Win10_Home Users through Windows Update and you might still be on v1903...)
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
conoscenti900
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:54 pm

Re: CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by conoscenti900 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 10:10 pm

Thank you very much for your reply.

I am currently on build of 1903 of Windows 10 Home upon looking at my settings, but I am suspecting it maybe some setting in Chrome that was introduced lately. I don't want to mess around with chrome://flags too much but there might be something to it that Google has introduced but have no idea what setting exactly they messed around with.
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3682
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:53 am

Hi conoscenti900,

Our QA team will run some regression tests to see if they can reproduce the behavior you are reporting.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3682
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:12 pm

conoscenti900 wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 12:50 pm
1. Yes the problem is with .CSV DataSource files, from testing several future Chrome versions from Beta, Developer and Canary. The scripts I use are set to repeat the script several times iterating through the .CSV file hundreds of lines. You can try a web form demo as a testing method just have a good size .CSV file so it can iterate several times. Leaving the browser in active view at all times works with no problems. But trying to make a new desktop in Windows 10 and leaving it running in the other desktop while you do other work in the other causes the .CSV problem until you open the desktop where the macro is working and the .CSV function starts working back again.
How did you verify exactly that the ".CSV function" is not working? Does the macro itself continue to run while on the other desktop? What is the exact behavior you are observing?

I did a quick test myself just now with Chrome 79 Beta, but I tested on Win 7 by minimizing the browser window, so it's not an exact apples-to-apples test compared to what you have described so far. I set the playback speed in the iMacros settings to Medium and then looped the Loop-Csv-2-Web demo macro 4 times and minimized the browser and sidebar as soon as I clicked the Play (loop) button. The result of my test is that the macro completed all the loops successfully.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
conoscenti900
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:54 pm

Re: CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by conoscenti900 » Mon Nov 18, 2019 6:54 pm

Basically I use a macro with hundreds of lines in the .CSV file where data needs to be inputed into a text box in the website. I recently started to use the New Desktop function in Windows 10 where you can leave the macro running in one desktop and you can make a new one for yourself and do other work. A new desktop can be created by click the "Task View" button which is right by the round Cortona button. So as I was working I went to check how my macro is doing in the other desktop and I noticed that while I work in the other desktop that the input fields were not being filled in from the .CSV data file. So I went ahead and did some testing to confirm this behavior. I left the Macro running for 30 minutes while not having any other desktop and keeping everything in active view and no problems at all. I create a new desktop where now Chrome is not in active view and should be doing it's work in the other Desktop, as I come back none of data from the .CSV was inputted into the website, right until I go back to Desktop #1 and keep it in active view, data from the .CSV file immediately starts working.

So if you have two Desktops running in Windows 10 Desktop #1 and Desktop #2 If you leave the macro running in Chrome on Desktop #1 and switch to Desktop #2 to do other work, .CSV data fails to get inputted on websites, until you switch Desktop #1 and keep it in active view at all times. Which I find very strange, all other macro function are working with no problem.
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3682
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: CSV data not populating if Chrome is not in active window/desktop view

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:35 pm

Thanks for the further clarification. Our QA team ran a similar test this morning, but unfortunately they were also not able to reproduce the issue. Here is a summary of the test they ran:
Chrome 79.0.3945.36 beta 64-bit on Win 10 Ent 1903 x64 (vm) with iMacros-Cr 10.0.5

Tried both, minimizing the browser and having it on another desktop that is not the active one. Looped the macro 60 times (extended the csv file); tried also with slow speed. So far, I cannot reproduce the issue, at least not with the Loop-Csv-2-Web macro.
We'll have to keep our eyes and ears open to see if we receive any similar reports from other users. Otherwise, it could be something specific to your particular environment and/or installation.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Post Reply