Chrome downloading files as txt

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros for Chrome extension.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
Trintech
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:11 pm

Chrome downloading files as txt

Post by Trintech » Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:14 pm

I've ran into an issue with some sites downloading various file formats as .txt instead of what they are being set to download as either natively by the site or by the 'ONDOWNLOAD FOLDER=X FILE=Y' line.

It doesn't seem to be a universal either, so I'm left wondering if this is something that can be addressed via the script or perhaps a setting in the iMacros extension or Chrome browser, or if it's just a site driven issue.
chivracq
Posts: 9716
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Chrome downloading files as txt

Post by chivracq » Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:47 pm

Trintech wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:14 pm
I've ran into an issue with some sites downloading various file formats as .txt instead of what they are being set to download as either natively by the site or by the 'ONDOWNLOAD FOLDER=X FILE=Y' line.

It doesn't seem to be a universal either, so I'm left wondering if this is something that can be addressed via the script or perhaps a setting in the iMacros extension or Chrome browser, or if it's just a site driven issue.

FCIM...! :mrgreen: (Read my Sig...)

Always a "good Idea" to read the Forum Rules when you join a Tech Forum... :idea:

>>>

And hum, before approving the Post by User @Enganacious in this similar/related Thread (ondownload failing to rename file), hum..., both Accounts are using the same IP..., and the Content of the Post is nearly identical to yours... :?
=> Are you 2 Colleagues working for the same Company...?, (then it's OK for both of you that have separate Accounts, but it would be "nice" if you both could read the Forum Rules, and both increase a bit the "Quality" of your Posts, Reason also I never reacted to that "other" Thread...), or are you just 1 same Person creating several Accounts on the Forum...? (then I don't really see the "Purpose"...!, and I would "prefer" you only use one Account for all your Posts on the Forum, especially related to the same Subject/Issue...). :!:
Re: ondownload failing to rename file
Post by Enganacious » 21/10/2020 - 14:30

Post awaiting approval:
I've ran into a similar issue, it doesn't seem to be universal however. It seems to be site specific. I have issues where I want to download say a .csv file or a .ofx file and iMacros for Chrome is saving it as .txt, it's rather bizarre.
Top

EDIT:
Got a mini-Reply from @Enganacious, "Yup, we are.", but it's still not clear to me if "you are" 1 Person with 2 Accounts, or 2 Colleagues... :?
Maybe @Trintech can clarify/reply, and a bit more "clearly" than just "Yup, we are."...? (That Account/User is now "free" to post on the Forum...)
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Enganacious
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:24 pm

Re: Chrome downloading files as txt

Post by Enganacious » Wed Oct 21, 2020 7:34 pm

Apologies, I setup this user as my personal user.

Trintech is meant to be a company login.
chivracq
Posts: 9716
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Chrome downloading files as txt

Post by chivracq » Wed Oct 21, 2020 7:59 pm

Enganacious wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 7:34 pm
Apologies, I setup this user as my personal user.

Trintech is meant to be a company login.

Alright, OK, then post from now on using your "personal" Account, I would say, and if any Colleague(s) of yours is/are going to post also, they could use the Company Account, but it's usually "better" for the Communication if different Users all have their own Account, and try to "keep it simple" and to "coordinate" on your Side, it's already "a bit messy" with 2 Accounts + posting in 2 different Threads...

=> Now I'm waiting for you to mention your FCI in both Threads... :|
You opened/posted in 2 Threads, now you have to maintain them both, and both with the same "Quality"... :|
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Post Reply