Where is macro and datasource folder

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros for Chrome extension.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
tabish8612
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 2:08 am

Where is macro and datasource folder

Post by tabish8612 » Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:31 am

Please help me I am trying to figure out where is Imacros Folder so I paste ready made imacro script and datasource file
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Where is macro and datasource folder

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:49 am

Hello,

Google Chrome doesn't allow Chrome extensions to access the file system. That is the reason why macros are stored as encoded javascript bookmarks. For the same reason working with CSV isn't possible.
So currently the only way to save your old macros to Chrome would be to: 1. Press "Record", 2. Press "Stop", 3. Paste your code into the text editor 4. Save and give your macro a name.

Of course iMacros for Firefox and all commercial versions of iMacros do not have those limitations!
Daniel, iOpus Support
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Where is macro and datasource folder

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:49 am

More information on iMacros for Chrome is available here:
http://wiki.imacros.net/iMacros_for_Chrome
Daniel, iOpus Support
Keratin
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Where is macro and datasource folder

Post by Keratin » Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:09 pm

Any idea by when we'd be able to pass data in .csv file to a Chrome iMacro?

If there a work around it? My data in the excel is just numbers. Additionally, do you think I can use the method described here http://forum.imacros.net/_uploads/ExcelVBA-Part2.htm for my Chrome iMacro? Is it a valid work-around?
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Where is macro and datasource folder

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Tue Mar 23, 2010 2:48 pm

Keratin wrote:Any idea by when we'd be able to pass data in .csv file to a Chrome iMacro?

If there a work around it? My data in the excel is just numbers. Additionally, do you think I can use the method described here http://forum.imacros.net/_uploads/ExcelVBA-Part2.htm for my Chrome iMacro? Is it a valid work-around?
Hello,

This is more of a question for Google :). Currently Chrome add-ons have no access to the file system, for security reasons I guess. And naturally we can't do anything about it, but patiently wait till this is changed.

I suggest using Firefox add-on or the full version of iMacros Browser, if you need file system access.

Best regards,
Daniel, iOpus Support
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Where is macro and datasource folder

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Tue Mar 23, 2010 2:49 pm

Here is more info on iMacros add-on for Google Chrome.
Daniel, iOpus Support
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Where is macro and datasource folder

Post by Tech Support » Tue Apr 20, 2010 10:39 pm

Update: iMacros for Chrome V2.0 Beta with file access is available: http://forum.imacros.net/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=9120
padib_pqa
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Where is macro and datasource folder

Post by padib_pqa » Mon Jan 10, 2011 1:59 pm

You may also want to add a datasources folder in your imacros folder after installation (it doesn't get created by default).
To find your installation folder, check the preferences for imacros, it's under Macros directory path

For usage on csv input, see http://wiki.imacros.net/Form_Filling#In ... SV.29_File
Post Reply