Capturing EXTRACT data

Discussions and Tech Support related to website data extraction, screen scraping and data mining using iMacros.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
Raisins
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:25 pm

Capturing EXTRACT data

Post by Raisins » Thu May 25, 2017 5:36 pm

iMacros Version V. 844
Browser Google Chrome versions is: 58.0.3029.110 (64-bit)
Operating System macOS Sierra V. 10.12.5
Included Demos work ok (all of them)

Also tried briefly on a Windows 10 system with Chrome with the same results. All demos worked.


Is there a way to put user-entered data into a variable?

I had been using PROMPT to capture user input data as a variable...

PROMPT "Please enter text:" !VAR1

Unfortunately, PROMPT no longer works with the latest Chrome update.

I've come up with the following workaround that EXTRACTs the user input from an html form I created. But I can't pass that data along because EXTRACT is not a variable and IEXTRACT does not work within a TAG. I've spent a lot of time with this and I haven't found a way to do this. Is there a way to load TAG EXTRACT'd data into a variable?

This is what I am trying to do...

URL GOTO=C:\Users\username\Desktop\FormTest.html
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:form1 ATTR=NAME:abc EXTRACT=TXT

SET !VAR1 {{!EXTRACT}}

TAB OPEN NEW
TAB T=2
URL GOTO=http://www.forvo.com/word/{{!VAR1}}/#ar

No luck with this, even though I found some demo samples that said it should work.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.
iimfun
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:06 pm

Re: Capturing EXTRACT data

Post by iimfun » Sat May 27, 2017 6:18 am

Raisins wrote:I had been using PROMPT to capture user input data as a variable...

PROMPT "Please enter text:" !VAR1

Unfortunately, PROMPT no longer works with the latest Chrome update.
I encountered the same problem. Here is my workaround for that

Code: Select all

SET !VAR1 EVAL("prompt('Please enter text:');")
PROMPT {{!VAR1}}
Raisins
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:25 pm

Re: Capturing EXTRACT data - CLOSED

Post by Raisins » Sat May 27, 2017 12:27 pm

Thank you. This works
chivracq
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Capturing EXTRACT data

Post by chivracq » Sat May 27, 2017 1:43 pm

Raisins wrote:

Code: Select all

iMacros Version V. 844
Browser Google Chrome versions is: 58.0.3029.110 (64-bit)
Operating System macOS Sierra V. 10.12.5
Included Demos work ok (all of them)

Also tried briefly on a Windows 10 system with Chrome with the same results. All demos worked.


Is there a way to put user-entered data into a variable?

I had been using PROMPT to capture user input data as a variable...

Code: Select all

PROMPT "Please enter text:" !VAR1
Unfortunately, PROMPT no longer works with the latest Chrome update.

I've come up with the following workaround that EXTRACTs the user input from an html form I created. But I can't pass that data along because EXTRACT is not a variable and IEXTRACT does not work within a TAG. I've spent a lot of time with this and I haven't found a way to do this. Is there a way to load TAG EXTRACT'd data into a variable?

This is what I am trying to do...

Code: Select all

URL GOTO=C:\Users\username\Desktop\FormTest.html
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:form1 ATTR=NAME:abc EXTRACT=TXT 

SET !VAR1 {{!EXTRACT}}

TAB OPEN NEW
TAB T=2
URL GOTO=http://www.forvo.com/word/{{!VAR1}}/#ar
No luck with this, even though I found some demo samples that said it should work.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.
iimfun wrote:
Raisins wrote:I had been using PROMPT to capture user input data as a variable...

Code: Select all

PROMPT "Please enter text:" !VAR1
Unfortunately, PROMPT no longer works with the latest Chrome update.
I encountered the same problem. Here is my workaround for that

Code: Select all

SET !VAR1 EVAL("prompt('Please enter text:');")
PROMPT {{!VAR1}}
Raisins wrote:Thank you. This works
Hum..., for Cross-Browser Compatibility, @iimfun's Workaround will NOT work on FF (tested on v8.8.2 and v8.9.7 for FF: => "ReferenceError: prompt is not defined, line 5 (Error code: -1001)"), see the following 2 related Threads for other Workarounds that should(?) work in all Browsers...:
- Displaying window.alert()
- PROMPT Messagebox - Yes - No - Cancel (end)
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Post Reply