Colon Distrupting The Extraction!!

Discussions and Tech Support related to website data extraction, screen scraping and data mining using iMacros.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information:CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
kambingjantan
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:42 pm

Colon Distrupting The Extraction!!

Post by kambingjantan » Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:07 pm

Firefox 55; imacros 8.9.7 ; Windows 7

I have been really familiar in coding in imacros, but
This is something new to me.
I found this kind of ID naming,

Code: Select all

<div class="_4-u2 mbm _4mrt _5jmm _5pat _5v3q _4-u8" data-fte="1" data-ftr="1" id="mall_post_1988260348080319:6:0" role="article"
Point here: mall_post_1988260348080319:6:0

And next problem, I can only use EVENT Javascript imacros to get it work.
So what I have done,

Extracting ID, and then assigned it to code like this

Code: Select all

iimPlayCode (
	"EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR=\"#mall_post_"+ something +":6:0>DIV>DIV>DIV:nth-of-type(2)>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>SPAN:nth-of-type(1)>DIV>A\" BUTTON=0" + ln
);
Point here: SELECTOR=\"#mall_post_"+ something +":6:0

Notice the bolded stuff? Yeah you can then assume it won't work. The error message was this,
"Syntax error. [this is line of code] is not a valid selector, line 1 (Error code: -1001)"

I am not sure if I missed some other technique to do this. But really I was really sad if it couldn't be done.
Thanks!
chivracq
Posts: 8144
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Colon Distrupting The Extraction!!

Post by chivracq » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:37 pm

kambingjantan wrote:

Code: Select all

Firefox 55; imacros 8.9.7 ; Windows 7
I have been really familiar in coding in imacros, but
This is something new to me.
I found this kind of ID naming,

Code: Select all

<div class="_4-u2 mbm _4mrt _5jmm _5pat _5v3q _4-u8" data-fte="1" data-ftr="1" id="mall_post_1988260348080319:6:0" role="article"
Point here: mall_post_1988260348080319:6:0

And next problem, I can only use EVENT Javascript imacros to get it work.
So what I have done,

Extracting ID, and then assigned it to code like this

Code: Select all

iimPlayCode (
	"EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR=\"#mall_post_"+ something +":6:0>DIV>DIV>DIV:nth-of-type(2)>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>DIV>SPAN:nth-of-type(1)>DIV>A\" BUTTON=0" + ln
);
Point here: SELECTOR=\"#mall_post_"+ something +":6:0

Notice the bolded stuff? Yeah you can then assume it won't work. The error message was this,
"Syntax error. [this is line of code] is not a valid selector, line 1 (Error code: -1001)"

I am not sure if I missed some other technique to do this. But really I was really sad if it couldn't be done.
Thanks!
Hum..., a bit surprised by your RuntimeError, I think the 'SELECTOR' Parameter is not supported/has not been implemented yet by/in iMacros for FF... But I'm a bit confused/unsure because the Error is a bit different from what I recall... :?

But OK anyway, I would have 1 or 2 Workarounds for Situations like yours..., never (really) needed that exact Functionality but was very "close" once a few months ago, so I already did "the Thinking", ah-ah...! :wink:
:arrow: But, hum, pfff..., way too cumbersome to try to explain it in Words..., post a Site with URL and EXACT Steps of what you EXACTLY want... :P

:arrow: But hum..., normally my first Reply in a Thread is a Reply to its Title..., (I read your Post and my Reply is a Reply to that Content), but to be honest, your Thread Title "Colon Distrupting The Extraction!!" doesn't make any sense to me..., "Distrup_whatever" is no English as a start :roll: (and nbd will be using that (Key)Word to search the Forum), but even, I simply don't understand your Thread Title in combination with the Content of your Post...
=> If you can give a(real) Descriptive Thread Title...? (Or explain..., maybe I missed stg..., but if I got confused, Users searching the Forum usually put 1-2 sec to a Thread from its Title if it might be relevant to their Scenario/Search to decide if they are going to open/check it.)
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
Posts: 8144
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Colon Distrupting The Extraction!!

Post by chivracq » Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:02 am

Hum..., I made a "mess" of my previous Reply, ah-ah...! Of course the 'SELECTOR' Parameter is correct when using the 'CLICK' Command on the 'EVENT' Mode... I got confused by the (new) 'SELECTOR' Parameter for the 'TAG' Mode instead... :oops:

=> Then OK, I think the '>' Chars in your ">DIV>DIV>etc..." also need to be escaped... (like you already do for the Double Quotes). :idea:
=> It's the '>' which is "disrupting" the Extraction, and not the Colon..., now I understand your Thread Title... :)

>>>

For those interested, parallel Thread on SOF... (with the same Typo as well, but with a little bit more Explanation about the "Colon" part):
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/481 ... cros-event
(No Replies yet...)
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
Posts: 8144
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Colon Distrupting The Extraction!!

Post by chivracq » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:41 am

Hum..., 10 days later..., and no Follow-up...!? Not too impressed, but OK, never mind... :shock:
(Still no Replies/Answers on SOF btw...)
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all 3 Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
Post Reply