Cannot initialize Firefox with scripting edition on VM

Discussions and Tech Support related to automating the iMacros Browser or Internet Explorer from any scripting and programming language, such as VBS (WSH), VBA, VB, Perl, Delphi, C# or C++.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information:CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
james.bartlett
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:31 am

Cannot initialize Firefox with scripting edition on VM

Post by james.bartlett » Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:50 am

I'm trying to run some tests with Firefox on a VM.

Firefox 3.6.13
VM is running Windows XP SP3
iMacros Scripting Edition 7.50.1729

Whenever I run iimInit() I get error code -9 and message "TCP interface error: Could not open server pipe \\.\pipe\im-fx-Selenium.Tester"

I've tried re-installing iMacros and it makes no difference. Running connect-to-firefox.vbs also gives the same error/message combo (when I add in some more debugging statements).

Connecting to IE works fine but Firefox is critical path for us. Any ideas what the problem might be?
caedium
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:48 pm

Re: Cannot initialize Firefox with scripting edition on VM

Post by caedium » Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:53 pm

I'm having exactly the same problem, the only difference is that I'm not running it in a VM but in my normal pc, using Windows 7 and Firefox 7.0.1
As for him IE and iMacros browser work fine, but not FIrefox.

I hope it can be easly fixed
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Cannot initialize Firefox with scripting edition on VM

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:35 am

Hi,

Could you tell me what your iMacros for Firefox Add-on version is? This could be versions mismatch.

Best regards,
Daniel, iOpus Support
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3491
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Cannot initialize Firefox with scripting edition on VM

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:39 pm

James,

I successfully tested the following configuration:

WinXP SP3 VM
iMacros Scripting Edition 7.50.1729
Firefox 3.6
iMacros for Firefox 7.3.0.0

caedium,

I successfully tested the following:

WinXP SP3 VM
iMacros Scripting Edition 7.50.1729
Firefox 7.0.1
iMacros for Firefox 7.4.0.4

Please report the versions of iMacros you have installed and/or try the above configuration.

For additional information about automating Firefox with the iMacros Scripting Edition, see the following post:

http://forum.iopus.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=12254
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot initialize Firefox with scripting edition on VM

Post by Tech Support » Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:32 am

:arrow: Please make sure you are using iMacros for Firefox 7.4.x or later. Older versions are not compatible to the latest Firefox versions.
james.bartlett
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:31 am

Re: Cannot initialize Firefox with scripting edition on VM

Post by james.bartlett » Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:01 pm

Hi again,

Thanks for the reply. I'm using VERSION 7300701 of the Firefox add-on. This matches the versions you've tested but I still have no joy. What exact version of Firefox 3.6 are you using?
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3491
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Cannot initialize Firefox with scripting edition on VM

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:57 pm

Hi James,

I tested with 3.6.20.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Post Reply