SyntaxError: missing (Eval)

Discussions and Tech Support related to automating the iMacros Browser or Internet Explorer from any scripting and programming language, such as VBS (WSH), VBA, VB, Perl, Delphi, C# or C++.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
Co0oDe
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:17 pm

SyntaxError: missing (Eval)

Post by Co0oDe » Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:21 pm

OS: WINDOWS 10
iMacros: VERSION BUILD=8920312
Browser: Firefox 39.0
---------------------------------------
i was trying to convert imacros to javascript...
but i got that error
SyntaxError: missing ; before statement, line 1 (Error code: -991)
My Code

Code: Select all

macro +=  "SET !VAR3 EVAL("Math.floor(Math.random()*256 + 1);")" + "\n"; 
chivracq
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: SyntaxError: missing (Eval)

Post by chivracq » Sun Aug 30, 2015 1:17 pm

Co0oDe wrote:OS: WINDOWS 10
iMacros: VERSION BUILD=8920312
Browser: Firefox 39.0
---------------------------------------
i was trying to convert imacros to javascript...
but i got that error
SyntaxError: missing ; before statement, line 1 (Error code: -991)
My Code

Code: Select all

macro +=  "SET !VAR3 EVAL("Math.floor(Math.random()*256 + 1);")" + "\n"; 
Yep, I think you need to (Single, Double, Triple...?) escape the Double Quotes within the 'EVAL()'...
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Co0oDe
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:17 pm

Re: SyntaxError: missing (Eval)

Post by Co0oDe » Sun Aug 30, 2015 3:39 pm

Yep, I think you need to (Single, Double, Triple...?) escape the Double Quotes within the 'EVAL()'...
Yes you're right.
Correct Code:

Code: Select all

macro +=  "SET !VAR3 EVAL('Math.floor(Math.random()*256 + 1);')" + "\n"; 
chivracq
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: SyntaxError: missing (Eval)

Post by chivracq » Sun Aug 30, 2015 3:44 pm

Co0oDe wrote:
Yep, I think you need to (Single, Double, Triple...?) escape the Double Quotes within the 'EVAL()'...
Yes you're right.
Correct Code:

Code: Select all

macro +=  "SET !VAR3 EVAL('Math.floor(Math.random()*256 + 1);')" + "\n"; 
Oh..., good...!, or replace them with Single Quotes indeed, which I find more "elegant"...!
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE').
- I don't even read the Qt if that (required) Info is not mentioned...!
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Post Reply