Simple Start-Up (Internet Explorer port...)

Discussions and Tech Support related to automating the iMacros Browser or Internet Explorer from any scripting and programming language, such as VBS (WSH), VBA, VB, Perl, Delphi, C# or C++.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
Andrew4
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:12 am

Simple Start-Up (Internet Explorer port...)

Post by Andrew4 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:02 am

Greetings iMacros Community,

after spending a lot of time on the offical Wiki and experimenting I got stuck on what I believe is a rather simple issue. The current Situation is a simple HTML file, which will be opened by Internet Explorer and has a Button with OnClick event:
<INPUT TYPE="Button" VALUE="iMacros start" onclick="startMacro()" />
<SCRIPT>
startMacro=function()
{
var ShellWSH = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");
ShellWSH.Run('WScript.exe "C:\\scriptMacro.vbs"');
}
</SCRIPT>

(Because this should stay inside Internet Explorer VBScript is fine/possible even though an equal JScript solution would be possible but that is not the issue)

scriptMacro.vbs also is as simple as it gets:

Option Explicit
Dim iim1, iret, iret2, s
set iim1= CreateObject ("iMacros")
iret = iim1.iimInit()
if iret<0 then
s = iim1.iimGetErrorText()
msgbox "iimInit() failed:" + cstr(iret) + " / " + s
end if
iret = iim1.iimPlay("C:\\scriptMacro.iim")
if iret<0 then
s = iim1.iimGetErrorText()
msgbox "iimPlay() failed:" + cstr(iret) + " / " + s
end if
iret = iim1.iimClose
WScript.Quit(iret)

This works just fine BUT the iimInit() starts the default Internet Explorer based iMacro browser. Here we want:
iret = iim1.iimInit("-fx", false)
(or "-cr" would be just fine too as long as it is NOT Internet Explorer that executes the script on external sites)

Now when no instance of the (newest, version 63.0.1 64bit) Firefox is running we get:
iimInit() failed:-9 / TCP interface error: Error finding browser binary

IF there is at least on instance we get:
iimInit() failed:-9 / TCP interface error: Could not open server pipe \\.\pipe\im-fx-default...

IF we use "-cr" instead of "-fx" we alwasy get:
iimInit() failed:-9 / TCP interface error: Connection timed out. Is "Allow access to file URLS" enabled in iMacros for Chroime? See (wiki URL)#Scripting_Chrome

I already check that imtcp(64).dll is in C:\Program Files (x86)\Ipswitch\iMacros\ and also tried:
iim1.iimInit("-fx -fxProfile MyProfile", false)
with setting up profiles.ini:
[Profile1]
Name=MyProfile
IsRelative=1
Path=C:\...\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\MyProfile
Default=0

having the corresponding ...\Firefox\Profiles\MyProfile\ directory
which also just does not work...what can be done here to reuse the current IE based environment which stays like this for the first part but changing the firefox/chrome after iimInit( or iimOpen)

Thank you very much in advance!
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3834
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Simple Start-Up (Internet Explorer port...)

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:53 am

Hi Andrew,

What version of iMacros Enterprise / scripting interface are you using? The easiest way to obtain this information is to open the iMacros browser and select Help - Display Troubleshooting Info and post it here.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Andrew4
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:12 am

Re: Simple Start-Up (Internet Explorer port...)

Post by Andrew4 » Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:50 am

Hello Tom,

thank you, for your quick reply! On my 'developer' machine I use:

Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Microsoft Windows NT 6.3.9600.0
64-bit Operating System
Installed UI Culture: German (Germany)
CLR version 4.0.30319.42000
Internet Explorer version 11.345.17134.0
Enhanced Protected Mode = False, 64-bit processes for EPM = False
iMacros Browser (x86) version 10.4.28.1074
------------------------------------------------------------
Auxiliary Libraries:
iMacros Direct Screen (iimds) 10.0.1.13
iimir (iimir) 6, 3, 0, 1
iMacros Image Recognition (iimIRm) 2.0.1.33
iMacros Dialog Manager (imsys) 10.0.1.0
------------------------------------------------------------
Scripting Interface Libraries:
iMacros IE Scripting Connector (iimConnector) 10.2.0.120
iMacros FX Connector (iimFirefoxConnector) 2.0.1.12
iMacros Scripting Interface (iimInterface) 10.2.0.120
iMacros FX&Cr Scripting (imtcp) 2.1.0.34
------------------------------------------------------------


while the PC where the task should be performed at:

Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
64-bit Operating System
Installed UI Culture: German (Germany)
CLR version 4.0.30319.42000
Internet Explorer version 11.0.9600.19180
Enhanced Protected Mode = False, 64-bit processes for EPM = False
iMacros Browser (x86) version 11.1.495.5175
------------------------------------------------------------
Mozilla Firefox version 56.0 (x86 de)
------------------------------------------------------------
Auxiliary Libraries:
iMacros Direct Screen (iimds) 10.1.0.17
iimir (iimir) 6, 3, 0, 1
iMacros Image Recognition (iimIRm) 2.0.1.33
iMacros Dialog Manager (imsys) 10.0.1.0
------------------------------------------------------------
Scripting Interface Libraries:
iMacros IE Scripting Connector (iimConnector) 10.2.0.124
iMacros FX Connector (iimFirefoxConnector) 2.0.1.12
iMacros Scripting Interface (iimInterface) 10.2.0.124
iMacros FX&Cr Scripting (imtcp) 2.1.0.34
------------------------------------------------------------
Tom, Tech Support
Posts: 3834
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Re: Simple Start-Up (Internet Explorer port...)

Post by Tom, Tech Support » Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:06 pm

Hi Andrew,

Thank you for the information, I have some more questions for you...

Did you already install File Access for iMacros Webextensions, as described here:

https://wiki.imacros.net/Webextensions#Add_File_Access

If it is installed, then start iMacros for Firefox and click the FILES tab at the top of the iMacros sidebar. It should show a list of your macro files on disk, but if it says "File access is not available in the freeware version" then it means that it does not recognize your license.

You need to use a license for iMacros v12 (Personal, Professional, or Enterprise) in order for File Access to work. If you only have a license for an older version of iMacros Enterprise, you have a couple of options:
  1. Renew your Enterprise Edition license / service agreement so that it is compatible with iMacros 12.
  2. Purchase a new Personal Edition license.
Once you have a current Enterprise or Personal Edition license, then you need to activate the File Access module by launching the 'Activate iMacros license' shortcut from the Windows start menu (do not use the iMacros browser to activate the license if you purchased a Personal Edition license).

Note: You can still use the older version(s) of the Enterprise Edition software to script the new iMacros for Firefox and Chrome, but the File Access module needs to be activated with a current license.
Regards,

Tom, iMacros Support
Post Reply