Macro for open url with google translator

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros for Chrome extension.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
sabri80
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:14 pm

Macro for open url with google translator

Post by sabri80 » Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:28 pm

Hi,
Is possible a macro for open the current page with google translator?
Regards from Spain.
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:29 pm

Hello,

Yes, definitely:

Code: Select all

SET !VAR1 {{!URLCURRENT}}
URL GOTO=http://translate.google.com/#
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:source CONTENT={{!VAR1}}
TAG POS=1 TYPE=SELECT FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:old_sl CONTENT=%en
TAG POS=1 TYPE=SELECT FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:old_tl CONTENT=%es
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ID:text_form ATTR=ID:old_submit
Saludos cordiales (Googles translation!), :)
Daniel, iOpus Support
sabri80
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:14 pm

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by sabri80 » Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:40 pm

Fantastic! is very good!
Now I have it in the firefox bookmark bar.
thanks Daniel :wink:
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:41 pm

Not at all! :)

Best wishes,
Daniel, iOpus Support
neobavesten
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:34 am

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by neobavesten » Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:45 am

Hello,

Very informative thread!
I was just wondering if there is a way to run a sequence that could complete multiple translations using Google Translate.

The idea is as follows:
1. Read TEXT from a TXT file.
2. Translate TEXT from EN>RU (TEXT1)
3. Translate TEXT1 from RU>GE (TEXT2)
4. Translate TEXT2 from GE>EN (TEXT3)
5. Save TEXT3 in the same or different TXT file.

Ideally, this should be put into loop since there are many TXT files.

Since I am an absolute beginner, any idea on how this can be done would be highly appreciated!
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Mon Nov 15, 2010 1:32 pm

Hi,

Here is an example of what you could do:

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=2000420 RECORDER=CR
URL GOTO=http://translate.google.com/#en|ru
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:source CONTENT=Let's<SP>see<SP>
WAIT SECONDS=1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ID:gt-form ATTR=ID:gt-submit
WAIT SECONDS=1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=ID:result_box EXTRACT=TXT

URL GOTO=http://translate.google.com/#ru|en
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:source CONTENT={{!EXTRACT}}
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ID:gt-form ATTR=ID:gt-submit
WAIT SECONDS=1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=ID:result_box EXTRACT=TXT
Here is some info on CSV input: http://wiki.imacros.net/Tutorials#CSV_input

Best regards,
Daniel, iOpus Support
neobavesten
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:34 am

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by neobavesten » Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:21 am

Hi,

Thank you very much for your reply!
Although I tried very hard to make this work, I still have problems.

First of all I don't know where to put commands in order to read and write CSV files?

Also I don't need existing pop up window- it would be better if macro could just
read data from the file, translate it and save it in another file.

Any help :?
Daniel, Tech Support
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:35 am

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by Daniel, Tech Support » Thu Nov 25, 2010 7:33 pm

Also I don't need existing pop up window- it would be better if macro could just
read data from the file, translate it and save it in another file.
Hi,

Extraction popup can easily be disabled, just don't pay attention to it for now. And reading data from the file and saving into another is exactly what I was talking about.
First of all I don't know where to put commands in order to read and write CSV files?
Have you taken a look at the link I gave you? Also, your iMacros installation does have some csv demo - you can use them to make your macro.

What exactly is not working for you? If you tell me of a specific problem, I'll gladly try to help!

Best regards,
Daniel, iOpus Support
neobavesten
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:34 am

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by neobavesten » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:13 pm

Hi,

Many thanks your help!

Please find sample data that need to be processed using IMacros. Basically, it is CSV file containing 4 columns, the last one
being the text (article) that needs to be rewritten using Google translate (EN-RU-EN) and than saved back preferably
to the same CSV or another CSV file. Although I am novice I tried very hard to adapt your code to complete this task, but
with no success.

I have tried simple exercise with the following code but it is not what I am after:

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=7021019 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
SET !DATASOURCE input.csv
SET !DATASOURCE_COLUMNS 3
SET !DATASOURCE_LINE {{!LOOP}}
URL GOTO=about:blank
URL GOTO=http://translate.google.com/#en|ru|
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:source CONTENT={{!COL1}}
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ID:gt-form ATTR=ID:gt-submit
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:source CONTENT={{!COL2}}
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ID:gt-form ATTR=ID:gt-submit
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:source CONTENT={{!COL3}}
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=ID:gt-form ATTR=ID:gt-submit
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:text_form ATTR=ID:source CONTENT=
I would really appreciate if you could help me with this matter.
Thanks!

Code: Select all

"3 Different Kinds of Organic Tshirts and What to Choose?",	"How to prevent from being fooled while choosing organic tshirts!",	"Organic Cotton, Clothing, Organic, Apparel, T-shirt, Textile, Tshirt, Organic Fabric, Garment, Organic Cotton Clothing, Ecological Clothing, Organic Cotton Fabric",	"It is not a secret now that the demand for organic cotton clothing is rising quickly. People are willing to buy more natural clothing to themselves to prevent from harmful chemicals that are used at several textile processes.However, there are also some clever people who are trying to make more money on using this weakness of people. I mean how will you trust that the t-shirt you purchased is really organic? There are 3 common usages of organic cotton.a) You use the normal/conventional cotton and claim that it was organic. If people believes you then you will make %30 more profit with the exact same garments. So please carefully check the labels of the clothing before you buy and also try to buy from big brands!b) You get the organic cotton. Made the fabric from it and dye it like you do with the normal cotton. In the end you will have a harmful and chemical fabric which is not organic but "made from organic cotton".c) You get the organic cotton and dye it with dyestuff that is allowed by the organic certification companies and follow their guidelines. This is costly and the final fabric, t-shirt price will be higher but this is ofcourse healtier. In the end your organic fabric will not be harmful! In that case you can also say the term "organic t-shirt" easily.Confusing right? Try to stay away from "made in India" and "made in China" organic cotton products for now. USA and Turkey is offering much better quality and trusted business at the moment. I will try to explain the details in my next article on fromorganic.com web site.
victoriaw
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:26 pm

Re: Macro for open url with google translator

Post by victoriaw » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:48 pm

I found very useful the website translator code:
http://translate.google.com/translate_tools
Post Reply