Extraction Bug

Discussions and Tech Support related to website data extraction, screen scraping and data mining using iMacros.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
msalperen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 2:00 pm

Extraction Bug

Post by msalperen » Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:12 pm

Hello

When I try to extract a text which is already in curly brackets such as: {{mytext}}, iopus fails to understand it, becuase it thinks the aimed text as a variable.

I think this is an unseen bug. Here is an example code, it gives an error on line 8:

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=4310722     
TAB T=1     
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS   
URL GOTO=http://www.editthis.info/wikiky/Deneme23?title=Deneme&action=edit     
SIZE X=1004 Y=723    
URL GOTO=http://www.editthis.info/wikiky/Deneme     
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Düzenle   
EXTRACT POS=1 TYPE=TXT ATTR=<TEXTAREA<SP>accessKey=,<SP>tabIndex=1<SP>name=wpTextbox1<SP>rows=25<SP>cols=80>*
SET !VAR1 {{!EXTRACT}}
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:son<SP>değişiklikler   
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Deneme23   
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Düzenle   
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:editform ATTR=NAME:wpTextbox1 CONTENT={{!VAR1}} 
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=NAME:editform ATTR=NAME:wpSave&&VALUE:Save<SP>page  
'Comment: New page loaded
Note:You can edit that wiki page for your test purposes. I'm keeping the troublesome text intact for you to test. This issue is not new, I have mentioned it months ago, but not given a clear example. I hope this helps.

This is the constant URL: http://www.editthis.info/wikiky/Deneme? ... oldid=5243
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:49 pm

Hi,

The issue is fixed and is available with V5.2. With the new version you can use the #NOVAR# escape sequence.

Example:
TAG TYPE=INPUT:TEXT FORM=NAME:TestForm ATTR=NAME:Name CONTENT=Hello#NOVAR#{{World}}

This will fill in the following text: Hello{{World}}

(Note that the {{...}} are not replaced)

Daniel Kerr
iOpus Support
msalperen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 2:00 pm

Post by msalperen » Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:59 pm

Hello I tried every combination of parameters but I couldn't solve the issue, would you please show it on the example above?
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Tue Aug 29, 2006 12:11 pm

Hi,

So to do this you need to get the #NOVAR# into the string sequence. This can be done via a simple script. You should split the macro into two:

novar.iim

Code: Select all

VERSION BUILD=4310722     
TAB T=1     
TAB CLOSEALLOTHERS   
'URL GOTO=http://www.editthis.info/wikiky/Deneme23?title=Deneme&action=edit     
SIZE X=1004 Y=723   
URL GOTO=http://www.editthis.info/wikiky/Deneme     
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Düzenle   
EXTRACT POS=1 TYPE=TXT ATTR=<TEXTAREA<SP>accessKey=,<SP>tabIndex=1<SP>name=wpTextbox1<SP>rows=25<SP>cols=80>*
novar2.iim

Code: Select all

WINCLICK X=65 Y=241 CONTENT=      
WAIT SECONDS=10
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Deneme23   
TAG POS=1 TYPE=A ATTR=TXT:Düzenle   
TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:editform ATTR=NAME:wpTextbox1 CONTENT={{input}}
TAG POS=1 TYPE=INPUT:SUBMIT FORM=NAME:editform ATTR=NAME:wpSave&&VALUE:Save<SP>page 
'Comment: New page loaded
and call them from a script:

Code: Select all

option explicit
dim iim1
dim inputstring, i
set iim1= CreateObject ("InternetMacros.iim")
i=iim1.iimInit
i=iim1.iimPlay("novar")
inputstring = "#NOVAR#" & iim1.iimGetLastExtract()
msgbox inputstring
i=iim1.iimSet("-var_input", inputstring)
i=iim1.iimPlay("novar2")
WScript.Quit(0)
Daniel Kerr
iOpus Support
Post Reply