Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros Firefox add-on.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
zhedielj
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 3:08 pm

Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by zhedielj » Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:27 am

Image

Win7 X64 firefox49.02 8.97

My script always stoped at below line. I had used "SET !TIMEOUT_STEP 1" and "SET !ERRORIGNORE YES" two commands to avoid error, but no effect.
EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="*" POINTS="({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637)"
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by chivracq » Wed Nov 30, 2016 12:27 pm

zhedielj wrote:Image

Code: Select all

Win7 X64 
firefox49.02  
8.97
My script always stoped at below line. I had used "SET !TIMEOUT_STEP 1" and "SET !ERRORIGNORE YES" two commands to avoid error, but no effect.

Code: Select all

EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="*" POINTS="({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637)"
Yep, known Bug since the 'EVENT' Mode exists and that I have reported since the first Version, more than 3 years ago, not really acknowledged by TechSup and never fixed, and never encountered/reported again by anybody else afaik, you are the first one..., Script simply hangs at the next Line after a 'MOUSEMOVE' Event with Object not found, even with '!ERRORIGNORE'...

You already seem to try to avoid that kind of Pb with "SELECTOR="*"" though I'm not sure it will work with a 'MOUSEMOVE', the Workaround I am using since a few months when I finally dug into the Pb again after 3 years is to first (try to) tag the Object I want to move with the 'TAG' Mode and using 'EVAL()' to compute which Selector to use for the 'MOUSEMOVE':

Code: Select all

'Check if Object is there:
SET !EXTRACT NULL
TAG POS=1 TYPE=DIV ATTR=ID:brThumb EXTRACT=TXT
SET Object_is_there EVAL("var s='{{!EXTRACT}}'; var x; if(s!='#EANF#'){x='#brThumb';} else{x='BODY';}; x;")

EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#brThumb" BUTTON=0
EVENT TYPE=MOUSEDOWN SELECTOR="#brThumb" BUTTON=0
EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="{{Object_is_there}}" POINTS="(395,872),(399,872),(405,871),(410,871),(414,870),(418,869),(419,869),(420,869),(421,869),(422,869),(425,869),(428,869),(434,869),(439,869),(441,869),(445,869),(450,869),(452,869),(456,869),(459,869),(464,869)"
EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="{{Object_is_there}}" POINTS="(503,869),(506,869),(507,869),(511,869),(514,869),(515,869),(517,869),(519,869),(521,869),(522,869),(524,869),(526,869),(528,869),(530,869),(532,869),(533,869),(534,869),(538,869),(539,869),(542,869),(543,869)"
EVENT TYPE=MOUSEUP POINT="(545,869)"
EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#brThumb" BUTTON=0
Created and tested on iMacros for FF v8.8.2, Pale Moon v24.6.4 (=FF45) or/and Pale Moon v26.3.3 (=FF47), Win10-x64.
Tested as well on iMacros for FF v8.9.7, FF47, Win10-x64.

>>>

EDIT [2019-08-03]:
Post Title changed from "Re: How can I avoid element waiting issue?" to "Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector."
Last edited by chivracq on Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
zhedielj
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 3:08 pm

Re: How can I avoid element waiting issue?

Post by zhedielj » Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:38 pm

@chivracq Thank you for your smart resolution. :D I just want to kiss you. I have searched the whole forum for this problem, and I hardly think that can be resolved. You are my supper star.
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: How can I avoid element waiting issue?

Post by chivracq » Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:39 pm

zhedielj wrote:@chivracq Thank you for your smart resolution. :D I just want to kiss you. I have searched the whole forum for this problem, and I hardly think that can be resolved. You are my supper star.
Ah-ah...!, nice to see that you are happy with this "Creative" Workaround, ah-ah...!, that I don't think I had posted already yet, so I will update as well my "Main" Thread where I keep a list of Bugs related to the 'EVENT' Mode and where I maintain as well a List of interesting Threads (related to the 'EVENT' Mode as well)...:
- Re: Feedback and Issues on EVENT Recording Mode.
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
kkipling5
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:29 am

Re: How can I avoid element waiting issue?

Post by kkipling5 » Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:01 pm

chivracq wrote:
Wed Nov 30, 2016 12:27 pm
zhedielj wrote:Image

Code: Select all

Win7 X64 
firefox49.02  
8.97
My script always stoped at below line. I had used "SET !TIMEOUT_STEP 1" and "SET !ERRORIGNORE YES" two commands to avoid error, but no effect.

Code: Select all

EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="*" POINTS="({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637),({{!VAR9}},637)"
Yep, known Bug since the 'EVENT' Mode exists and that I have reported since the first Version, more than 3 years ago, not really acknowledged by TechSup and never fixed, and never encountered/reported again by anybody else afaik, you are the first one..., Script simply hangs at the next Line after a 'MOUSEMOVE' Event with Object not found, even with '!ERRORIGNORE'...

You already seem to try to avoid that kind of Pb with "SELECTOR="*"" though I'm not sure it will work with a 'MOUSEMOVE', the Workaround I am using since a few months when I finally dug into the Pb again after 3 years is to first (try to) tag the Object I want to move with the 'TAG' Mode and using 'EVAL()' to compute which Selector to use for the 'MOUSEMOVE':

Code: Select all

'Check if Object is there:
SET !EXTRACT NULL
TAG POS=1 TYPE=DIV ATTR=ID:brThumb EXTRACT=TXT
SET Object_is_there EVAL("var s='{{!EXTRACT}}'; var x; if(s!='#EANF#'){x='#brThumb';} else{x='BODY';}; x;")

EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#brThumb" BUTTON=0
EVENT TYPE=MOUSEDOWN SELECTOR="#brThumb" BUTTON=0
EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="{{Object_is_there}}" POINTS="(395,872),(399,872),(405,871),(410,871),(414,870),(418,869),(419,869),(420,869),(421,869),(422,869),(425,869),(428,869),(434,869),(439,869),(441,869),(445,869),(450,869),(452,869),(456,869),(459,869),(464,869)"
EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="{{Object_is_there}}" POINTS="(503,869),(506,869),(507,869),(511,869),(514,869),(515,869),(517,869),(519,869),(521,869),(522,869),(524,869),(526,869),(528,869),(530,869),(532,869),(533,869),(534,869),(538,869),(539,869),(542,869),(543,869)"
EVENT TYPE=MOUSEUP POINT="(545,869)"
EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#brThumb" BUTTON=0
Created and tested on iMacros for FF v8.8.2, Pale Moon v24.6.4 (=FF45) or/and Pale Moon v26.3.3 (=FF47), Win10-x64.
Tested as well on iMacros for FF v8.9.7, FF47, Win10-x64.
This worked! Thank you. I had been looking for a solution to this for so long.
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by chivracq » Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:13 pm

kkipling5 wrote:
Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:01 pm
This worked! Thank you. I had been looking for a solution to this for so long.

Oh...!, good, and Thanks for the Feedback..., glad my Workaround could help some other User(s)... :D
Well, "for so long", I had already posted it about 2.5 years ago, ah-ah...! :wink:

Could also be interesting for other Users if you could share your own Script Sample, that would give a 2nd Example... 8)
And maybe mention also in your Post which (Search) Keywords you used (first) until you found this Thread, as I realize the Thread Title is not very-very explicit about the Content, which probably makes it a bit "difficult" for other Users to find it...

[FMI: 2019-08-03: Nb of Views: 1956]
Better Thread Title: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
kkipling5
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:29 am

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by kkipling5 » Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:07 pm

chivracq wrote:
Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:13 pm
kkipling5 wrote:
Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:01 pm
This worked! Thank you. I had been looking for a solution to this for so long.

Oh...!, good, and Thanks for the Feedback..., glad my Workaround could help some other User(s)... :D
Well, "for so long", I had already posted it about 2.5 years ago, ah-ah...! :wink:

Could also be interesting for other Users if you could share your own Script Sample, that would give a 2nd Example... 8)
And maybe mention also in your Post which (Search) Keywords you used (first) until you found this Thread, as I realize the Thread Title is not very-very explicit about the Content, which probably makes it a bit "difficult" for other Users to find it...

[FMI: 2019-08-03: Nb of Views: 1956]
Better Thread Title: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.
I had to make minimal changes to the sample code you provided. Mine looked like following:

Code: Select all

SET !EXTRACT NULL
TAG POS=1 TYPE=CANVAS ATTR=ID:js-canvas EXTRACT=TXT
SET Object_is_there EVAL("var s='{{!EXTRACT}}'; var x; if(s!='#EANF#'){x='#js-canvas';} else{x='BODY';}; x;")

EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#js-canvas" BUTTON=0
EVENT TYPE=MOUSEDOWN SELECTOR="#js-canvas" BUTTON=0
EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="{{Object_is_there}}" POINTS="(303,275),(309,310),(314,361),(314,387),(314,402),(314,409),(313,398),(312,360),(317,315),(321,284),(321,266),(321,248),(318,233),(314,220),(314,219),(314,218),(314,219),(317,236),(320,265),(325,314),(330,354),(332,395),(334,420),(334,427),(335,435),(335,443),(335,445),(335,440),(333,421),(333,383),(332,348),(331,315),(326,283),(321,259),(318,241),(315,232),(314,227),(312,225),(311,223),(309,221),(308,222),(305,230),(300,243),(293,280),(288,344),(280,393),(277,425),(274,455),(270,481),(268,499),(266,516),(265,521),(265,522),(264,522),(262,518),(258,491),(253,437),(243,380),(235,322),(229,279),(228,259),(228,245),(228,235),(231,227),(231,224),(231,223),(232,223),(235,232),(236,250),(238,285),(240,353),(240,422),(242,458),(245,478),(248,492),(251,501),(253,503),(254,503),(255,503),(256,503),(257,503),(261,499),(273,484),(282,471),(292,457),(304,435),(317,412),(325,395),(336,368),(346,339),(350,316),(355,293),(359,269),(362,255),(363,249),(364,243),(365,239),(366,239),(366,240),(369,253),(372,274),(378,312),(382,340),(387,372),(392,399),(394,417),(395,435),(396,452),(398,460),(398,462),(397,452),(396,401),(396,338),(397,295),(400,254),(403,233),(403,219),(403,211),(403,204),(403,199),(404,195),(404,193),(405,196),(406,225),(403,259),(395,322),(384,407),(378,449),(376,467),(374,476)"
EVENT TYPE=MOUSEUP POINT="(373,453)"

WAIT SECONDS = 1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=BUTTON FORM=ID:artform ATTR=ID:ArtSubmitButton
I believe I looked for "events type mousemove imacros error" on Google, went through multiple threads in iMacros forum to eventually reach this thread.
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by chivracq » Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:55 pm

kkipling5 wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:07 pm
I had to make minimal changes to the sample code you provided. Mine looked like following:

Code: Select all

SET !EXTRACT NULL
TAG POS=1 TYPE=CANVAS ATTR=ID:js-canvas EXTRACT=TXT
SET Object_is_there EVAL("var s='{{!EXTRACT}}'; var x; if(s!='#EANF#'){x='#js-canvas';} else{x='BODY';}; x;")

EVENT TYPE=CLICK SELECTOR="#js-canvas" BUTTON=0
EVENT TYPE=MOUSEDOWN SELECTOR="#js-canvas" BUTTON=0
EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR="{{Object_is_there}}" POINTS="(303,275),(309,310),[...(truncated)...],(376,467),(374,476)"
EVENT TYPE=MOUSEUP POINT="(373,453)"

WAIT SECONDS = 1
TAG POS=1 TYPE=BUTTON FORM=ID:artform ATTR=ID:ArtSubmitButton
I believe I looked for "events type mousemove imacros error" on Google, went through multiple threads in iMacros forum to eventually reach this thread.
Oh, yep indeed, minimal Editing..., mostly only had to adapt to your own 'ID'/'SELECTOR'... And Thanks for sharing your Script of course...! 8)

Hum, OK about the Search Keywords, so "mousemove" was the most "relevant" one I think, and there are not that many-many Threads about that Command on the Forum...

And I've asked the Forum Admin (@TechSup) anyway to change the Thread Title to the "new one" I gave yesterday which I think is more explicit/descriptive... 8)
And that should give them by the same occasion, maybe the Opportunity to "finally" notice and acknowledge this Bug that I first reported about 6 years ago now, ah-ah...! (Hum, that was actually the Reason why I registered onto the Forum when I joined 6 years ago, as I found it a "Blocking Bug" then and just wanted to report it as I couldn't find a Workaround at that time... (and the Documentation was very-very limited...), which was maybe a "good (or bad...? :? ) Thing" for the Forum Community, or I possibly would never have joined the Forum otherwise, ah-ah...! :twisted: )
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
kkipling5
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:29 am

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by kkipling5 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 1:24 pm

chivracq wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:55 pm
Oh, yep indeed, minimal Editing..., mostly only had to adapt to your own 'ID'/'SELECTOR'... And Thanks for sharing your Script of course...! 8)

Hum, OK about the Search Keywords, so "mousemove" was the most "relevant" one I think, and there are not that many-many Threads about that Command on the Forum...

And I've asked the Forum Admin (@TechSup) anyway to change the Thread Title to the "new one" I gave yesterday which I think is more explicit/descriptive... 8)
And that should give them by the same occasion, maybe the Opportunity to "finally" notice and acknowledge this Bug that I first reported about 6 years ago now, ah-ah...! (Hum, that was actually the Reason why I registered onto the Forum when I joined 6 years ago, as I found it a "Blocking Bug" then and just wanted to report it as I couldn't find a Workaround at that time... (and the Documentation was very-very limited...), which was maybe a "good (or bad...? :? ) Thing" for the Forum Community, or I possibly would never have joined the Forum otherwise, ah-ah...! :twisted: )
I'm encountering another problem. Sometimes the page does not loads, and the following 'Unable to connect' page is displayed.

In such a case, the macro stops at the line just after EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR.

Firefox 53, iMacros 8.9.7, Windows 10.
Attachments
Annotation 2019-08-17 184950.jpg
Last edited by kkipling5 on Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by chivracq » Sat Aug 17, 2019 2:31 pm

kkipling5 wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 1:24 pm
Image

In such a case, the macro stops at the line just after EVENTS TYPE=MOUSEMOVE SELECTOR.

Code: Select all

Firefox 53, iMacros 8.9.7, Windows 10.

Hum, OK, yep indeed, I'm not "too" surprised..., and I think I have a Solution... :D

Even if I'm still a bit surprised I never encountered that Situation myself, although I have that Piece of Code running 5-6 times everyday since 3 years maybe, and I very often have a "bad" Internet Connection, so I regularly get those "Unable to connect..." Screens, but I've never had/noticed any of the 4x Scripts I run daily and that use that Piece of Code, hang in the middle... :o
And I would notice because they are all 4 => [5000-14000] Lines of Code long and produce a Report at the end... (And I launch 3 out of 4 "manually"...) But hum, the Code I had posted in this Thread is already from 2,5 years ago, it's possible I later "incorporated" that "Unable to connect..." Situation in the Code I now use... I'll need to "compare", or to check why "my" Scripts don't hang, and/or to do a bit of Testing for the "Solution(s)" I now have in mind...

But hum, for me to "elaborate", can you upload your Screenshot directly to the Forum...?, rather than using some external Pix Hosting Site that one day will go dark or commercial, rendering your last Post incomprehensible for other Users... :idea:
(And try maybe also to "sober up" a bit your last Quote, you don't need to quote yourself again for example..., that whole Quote is actually not really needed, you don't react to anything "specific" I said in my previous Reply... (=> Trying to keep the Thread "readable" and useful for other Users..., like I guess you were "happy" when you found it yourself... :wink: ))
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by chivracq » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:02 pm

OK, I already had a look in one place in one of my Scripts at the Code I use myself, and it is "still" the exact same one like the one I had posted in this Thread...

But hum, the "Situation" I myself regularly encounter is rather a "The Connection was reset..." upon losing all (WiFi) Internet Connection for a while...:
Problem_loading_page_-_2019-08-17_16.47.24.png
And I "understand" why my Script(s) don't hang in that Case with those "The Connection was reset..." Error Pages... The "Technique" still works, and that's normal... 8)
(Tested on iMacros for FF v8.8.2, PM v26.3.3 (=FF47), Win10_x64.)

[+ For "myself": URL = "normal"/original URL from the 'URL GOTO'...]

But I also "regularly" get those "Unable to connect..." Error Pages... Do you know by any chance @kkipling5, how I can deliberately trigger such an Error/Page...?
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
kkipling5
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:29 am

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by kkipling5 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:31 pm

If I disconnect from WiFi and run the macro, I get 'Server not found' instead of 'Unable to connect' but the macro stops at the same line in both cases. However, if any web page is open, unrelated to the macro too, the macro successfully completes itself. It seems to happen only with the error web pages of Firefox. I wonder if it has anything to do with Firefox 53.
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by chivracq » Sat Aug 17, 2019 5:03 pm

kkipling5 wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:31 pm
If I disconnect from WiFi and run the macro, I get 'Server not found' instead of 'Unable to connect' but the macro stops at the same line in both cases. However, if any web page is open, unrelated to the macro too, the macro successfully completes itself. It seems to happen only with the error web pages of Firefox. I wonder if it has anything to do with Firefox 53.

Ah OK, Thanks for editing your previous Post and uploading your Screenshot directly to the Thread (I leave your 'imgur' one in my Quote as Attachments don't get quoted, it will probably "disappear" one day, ah-ah...!), and removing your own Quote... :D

OK, I can trigger indeed a "Server not found" and hum-hum..., I can reproduce the Issue indeed, but only in FF (FF v55.0.3 + iMacros for FF v8.9.7).
The Script doesn't hang in Pale Moon (PM v26.3.3 + iMacros for FF v8.8.2)...!?!? :?
And those 2 Browsers display indeed those "Server not found" Error Pages a bit differently... FF doesn't even want to show its Source..., even if 'TAG' + 'EXTRACT=HTM' does the job..., and the 'EVENT' Mode doesn't record anything, (but same also on PM), and apparently gets stuck in Replay also on FF and doesn't "see" the 'BODY' Element at all, while PM doesn't complain...

I also tried with 'HTML' and 'Script', same Results, always hang on FF, and they all work on PM. :?
Then..., pffff...!, I don't know right now, I'll need to do a bit of "Thinking" and Testing on FF... :oops:

I am a little bit perplex though, as to why I never encounter(ed) that Issue/Behaviour myself...!? :o :? :o
OK, PM is my Default and "Prod" Browser (+ v8.8.2 for FF), but the 3 Scripts I launch manually (good for approx 25,000 Lines of Code in total), I pretty regularly run those 3 Scripts in FF, especially one of the 3, which is the 14,000 Line long one..., and..., of course I check my Int. Co is working when I launch it, but it needs about 20-30 Min to run for those 14,000 Lines if the Connection is working fine, and up to the double if the Co. drops, which happens very-very regularly, and it's statistically impossible that never happened at least once in the last 3 years... So I'm a bit "puzzled", ah-ah...! :twisted:
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by chivracq » Sat Aug 17, 2019 5:29 pm

Some possible Workaround for you in the meantime could be to install/use Pale Moon (PM28) (Portable maybe) + v8.9.7 for FF. :idea:

I say "possible", even if I think you have about 70%-80% Chances it will work, is that 2 "Parameters" are playing a Role:
The Browser (=> PM vs FF) and the iMacros for FF Version (=> v8.8.2 vs v8.9.7).

And it's not clear which one is the "deciding" one... But I think it's the Browser, because PM and FF display and handle those Error Pages differently, and I don't think anything related to the 'EVENT' Mode had been modified to the Core Code of iMacros for FF between v8.8.2 and v8.9.7, which is a "good News"... 8)
I think absolutely all Versions between v8.8.2 and v8.9.7 were each time "solving" some "new" FF Version breaking some Functionality in the current/previous iMacros for FF Version at that time. And I don't think I remember anything being related to the 'EVENT' Mode then, without checking the Change-Logs/Release Notes... (But that's also one of or maybe the main Reason(s) why I'm still using v8.8.2 for FF for my "Prod" FCI... :| )

Hum..., a 3rd Parameter will hopefully play no Role, that will be some "Change" between PM26 and PM28, ah-ah...! I don't have a PM28 FCI to test (yet), fingers crossed that PM didn't follow FF for handling those Connection Error Pages, ah-ah...! :P
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
chivracq
Posts: 10301
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Workaround for 'EVENT' 'MOUSEMOVE' hanging on non-present Element/Selector.

Post by chivracq » Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:16 pm

Hum, and maybe "easier" than installing a new Environment and migrating/importing FF Profile(s) to PM, I would also have another Workaround that would work in FF directly, ah-ah...! 8)

It depends a bit on the Workflow of your whole Script and how you run/start it in FF (=> manually vs '.BAT' File and Task Scheduler), if the TAB you launch it (manually) from has other Tabs (already) open on the Left or the Right, and/or if it's the last Tab on the Right, and/or if that Tab is pinned or not, and/or if you use 'TABCLOSEALLOTHERS'..., but the Principle would be to open a New Tab to load some "fake" Page like a 'google.com' or any local '.html' or '.txt' Page in that TAB=2 (the local Page might be more reliable than 'google.com' in the case you really don't have any Int. Co.), or to make sure when you launch your Script that you already have a 2nd TAB open on any Web-Page loaded "properly"), and next to dynamically computing the Selector of your Element if it is present on the Page to use it for the 'MOUSEMOVE' or to use the 'BODY' which will always exist (if the Page loaded properly of course), to also check for a "Try Again" 'DIV' or 'BUTTON' (meaning you got the Error Page), and to spit out a "1" or a "2" to conditionally switch to 'TAB_2' if the Page didn't load properly.
(And where you "know" that the 'TAB_2' Page does contain a 'BODY' Element, which won't make the Script hang...) :idea:

>>>

The Technique I describe would btw also be my "Workaround" for the Blocking and very ugly Bug in my Opinion, even if it was never acknowledged by TechSup, and I'm very surprised nobody has complained about it yet, or I guess there are still not that many "serious" Users using v10.0.2 for FF, and/or they all have a 100% reliable Int. Co., but v10.0.2 for FF also completely hangs when processing an 'EVAL()' Statement in a Script if the "Page" currently loaded in the TAB had any Error and produced any such Browser Error Page... :shock:
Same also if by "Mistake", the Script switches to a TAB where some 'about:xxx' Config Page was already loaded...
(From some "vague Testing" I had done during the Beta-Testing Phase for v10.0.2 for FF, about 1 year ago...)
- (F)CI(M) = (Full) Config Info (Missing): iMacros + Browser + OS (+ all 3 Versions + 'Free'/'PE'/'Trial').
- FCI not mentioned: I don't even read the Qt...! (or only to catch Spam!)
- Script & URL help a lot for more "educated" Help...
Post Reply