Grabbing HTML from text file to insert into websites Text

Discussions and Tech Support related to website data extraction, screen scraping and data mining using iMacros.
Forum rules
iMacros EOL - Attention!

The renewal maintenance has officially ended for Progress iMacros effective November 20, 2023 and all versions of iMacros are now considered EOL (End-of-Life). The iMacros products will no longer be supported by Progress (aside from customer license issues), and these forums will also no longer be moderated from the Progress side.

Thank you again for your business and support.

Sincerely,
The Progress Team

Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
Guest

Grabbing HTML from text file to insert into websites Text

Post by Guest » Fri Nov 25, 2005 7:11 pm

I have a text box on a html page that I need to grab information from a text file to insert it. The text file is around 5,000 lines long so I need to be able to just link to the text file. I can post all the content in the text file to a variable but I am not sure if that will screw things up.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:36 pm

IIM variables can contain up to 1 MB of text, so 5000 lines are no problem :D
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:41 pm

In the unlikely case that you need need to transfer more then 1 MB from your script to the macro, you can use two or more variables:

In the script this would look like this:
i = iim1.iimSet ("-var_text1", text_part1)
i = iim1.iimSet ("-var_text2", text_part2)
i = iim1.iimSet ("-var_text3", text_part3)

And in the macro:
TAG.... CONTENT={{text1}}{{text2}}{{text3}}
Guest

Post by Guest » Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:55 am

The text file is only 12 KB but I still have problems inserting it. Everytime I submit the content it always gets stuck at the same point. All that is posted is below

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
<head>
  <title><$BlogPageTitle$></title>

  <$BlogMetaData$>

  <style type="text/css">
/*
-----------------------------------------------------
Blogger Template Style Sheet
Name:     Scribe
Designer: Todd Dominey
URL:      domineydesign.com / whatdoiknow.org
Date:     27 Feb 2004
------------------------------------------------------ */


/* Defaults
----------------------------------------------- */
body {
	margin:0;
	padding:0;
	font-family: Georgia, Times, Times New Roman, sans-serif;
	font-size: small;
	text-align:center;
	color:#29303B;
	line-height:1.3;
	background:#483521 url("http://www.blogblog.com/scribe/bg.gif") repeat;
}

blockquote {
	font-style:italic;
	padding:0 32px;
	line-height:1.6;
	margin:0 0 .6em 0;
}

p {margin:0;padding:0};

abbr, acronym {
	cursor:help;
	font-style:
and then here is the code that is right after it with repeating font-style...

Code: Select all

	font-style:normal;
}
	
code {font:12px monospace;white-space:normal;color:#666;}

hr {display:none;}

img {border:0;}

/* Link styles */
a:link {color:#473624;text-decoration:underline;}
a:visited {color:#716E6C;text-decoration:underline;}
a:hover {color:#956839;text-decoration:underline;}
a:active {color:#956839;}


/* Layout
----------------------------------------------- */
#wrap {
	background-color:#473624;
	border-left:1px solid #332A24;
	border-right:1px solid #332A24;
	width:700px;
	margin:0 auto;
	padding:8px;
	text-align:center;
}
This is more in the HTML that I submit to the variable but did not think you needed all of it. Can I point the macro to a text file for it to just use all the information in the text file for the template or is there another way that I can submit it instead of using...

Code: Select all

TAG POS=1 TYPE=TEXTAREA FORM=NAME:frm1 ATTR=NAME:templateText CONTENT={{content}}
I am not encoding the content or anything to that is passed to the the script.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Mon Nov 28, 2005 5:17 pm

We are investigating this issue....
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:38 pm

For further testing, can you please email the 12KB text file to support2 AT iopus.com ? Maybe it contains a "bad" character that triggers this issue. To test this, we need the original file.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Wed Dec 07, 2005 3:12 pm

The issue is fixed. A solution is available with the next update (V5.02).
Last edited by Tech Support on Wed Dec 07, 2005 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4948
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Wed Dec 07, 2005 3:12 pm

Until V5.02 is released, a patch can be downloaded at http://forum.imacros.net/viewtopic.php?t=274
Post Reply