Extracting Attributes

Discussions and Tech Support related to website data extraction, screen scraping and data mining using iMacros.

Moderators: Community Moderators, iMacros Moderators

Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the Google search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed. This will search the entire contents of the forums as well as the iMacros Wiki.
3. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information:

CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST

Answering your own posts (e.g. attempting to "bump" your topic) drops your topic from the list of unanswered threads, so it may actually receive less views.

Extracting Attributes

by ericwoo on Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:10 pm

It is to my understanding that Imacros can extract parameters now as explained here: http://wiki.imacros.net/TAG#Extract_Custom_Attributes

However, it doesn't explain much about this. After testing on Firefox and not getting it to work, I realized it said it only works with 10.2 which isn't a Firefox version. Does it work with Internet Explorer Imacros?

I hear it can be done with scripts but I don't have a lot of knowlege on so if someone can point me in the direction, the below content in the "value" attribute is what needs to be extracted.

Code: Select all
<input name="bullet_point1" value="CONTENT TO BE EXTRACTED">
ericwoo
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 8:00 pm

Re: Extracting Attributes

by chivracq on Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:28 pm

ericwoo wrote:It is to my understanding that Imacros can extract parameters now as explained here: http://wiki.imacros.net/TAG#Extract_Custom_Attributes

However, it doesn't explain much about this. After testing on Firefox and not getting it to work, I realized it said it only works with 10.2 which isn't a Firefox version. Does it work with Internet Explorer Imacros?

I hear it can be done with scripts but I don't have a lot of knowlege on so if someone can point me in the direction, the below content in the "value" attribute is what needs to be extracted.

Code: Select all
<input name="bullet_point1" value="CONTENT TO BE EXTRACTED">

Hum..., wanted to help you but refraining for the moment after checking your previous/older Threads as I was a bit surprised if you joined the Forum in 2012 that you never had the time (hum...!?) to read the Forum Rules for Required Tech Info to include in your Threads (or posting for the first time in some existing Thread)... :shock:
=> (F)CIM for this current Thread...! :mrgreen: (Read my Sig...)

+ About your previous Thread, 5 of them (=50%, you handled and finished the 4 or 5 other Threads correctly) are still waiting for some Follow-up from your Side, uh...!? :shock: :
2 never got any Reply, then you should have bumped them after a while and/or shared your Solution once you managed to solve them...
3 got some Reply/Replies from other (Advanced) Users (among those myself once, pfff, more than 3 years ago already, ah-ah...!), but you never followed up / thanked them(/us) a bit.

=> I would ask you to finish those 5 Threads "a bit neatly" (and useful for other Users searching the Forum) and sharing your Solution if you solved them by yourself + mentioning your FCI in this current Thread (I never asked you before so I drop that "Condition" for your older Threads, I'm not sure I would be able myself to remember which exact Config I was using 3-4-5-8-10 years ago, ah-ah...!) before I would be willing to help you again in this current Thread...
(Sorry but I only help Users using the Forum "a bit correctly" = Correct Sub-Forum + Descriptive Thread Title + FCI mentioned + Neat Follow-up in all (previous) Threads and Sharing Solution.)

Oh...!, and if that can motivate you a bit, I know the/some Answer/Solution to your Qt('s), ah-ah...! :twisted:
(Would have taken me 1 min to simply post the Answer, instead of typing this much longer Post that should have never been necessary, ah-ah...!)

Well the Qt about iMacros for IE v10.2+ is not difficult for you to test...
But the Sol I would have for your 2nd Qt would work in all Browsers..., hum, and I've already posted it several times, you could find it easily if you searched the Forum a bit... And with a little bit more Info about the Page (= posting the URL) and your Scenario, there is probably an even easier Solution, I would think...
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
 
Posts: 5714
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:07 am
Location: Amsterdam (NL)

Re: Extracting Attributes

by ericwoo on Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:41 am

@chivracq, I appreciate your reply. I didn't intend to offend you. Regarding the (F)CIM, I didn't include that because I am asking for what (F)CIM works for that tag
ericwoo
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 8:00 pm

Re: Extracting Attributes

by chivracq on Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:58 am

Hum, seems like you got "lucky", some new User tried to post a Reply but Post was not approved because of religious Comment...

Re: Extracting Attributes

Posted by MuslimPerson on 15 Mar 2017, 19:26

Code: Select all
    TAG POS=1 TYPE=input ATTR=name:bullet_point1 EXTRACT=HTM
    SET !EXTRACT EVAL("'{{!EXTRACT}}'.match(/value=[\"'](.+?)[\"']/)[1];")


now !EXTRACT = CONTENT TO BE EXTRACTED

[Religious Comment removed by Moderator.]
- (F)CIM = (Full) Config Info Missing: iMacros + Browser + OS with all Versions...
- I usually don't even read the Question if that (required) Info is not mentioned...
- Script & URL usually help a lot for a more "educated" Help...
chivracq
 
Posts: 5714
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:07 am
Location: Amsterdam (NL)


Return to Data Extraction and Web Screen Scraping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Website Monitoring