System Slowdown

Discussions and Tech Support specific to the iMacros Firefox add-on.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
rmmusa
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 5:19 pm

System Slowdown

Post by rmmusa » Sat Dec 02, 2006 5:47 pm

I installed imacros about a month ago and nothing worked when I clicked on the record button. Since it was new, I left it enabled figuring bugs would be worked out and an eventual update would solve the problem.

An update came through yesterday morning. With Firefox running normally, I installed it and restarted the browser. Firefox then ran but at an extreme crawl. In shutting it down, the message was that it was not responding. I went through a few restarts with the same result. I managed to uninstall imacros and upon restarting the browser, it ran normally.

I suspect that the problem is due to an incompatibility with one of my other extensions. Since I can't test imacros due to the extreme slowdown, I can't figure out which of my 72 extensions is/are incompatible.

I was wondering if you keep a running list of incompatible extensions that I could check against.

Thanks


Windows XP Firefox 2.0
rmmusa
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Follow-up to my posting

Post by rmmusa » Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:41 pm

I downloaded Portable Firefox 2.0 and installed imacros. This is the only extension I have in the portable version. Imacros worked and the system ran normally.

So I conclude from this that I was correct in assuming that there is a conflict with another extension in the non-portable version.

Knowing which extension remains my problem.
Fredy
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:00 am

Post by Fredy » Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:20 am

Hi. I have a similar problem. Fresh installation of Firefox 2.0, without other extension or themes. Normal using of browser works, but when i open sidebar with bookmarks, it begins use CPU for 50% and Firefox is not responding.

Windows XP Pro SP2, Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3.2GHz, 2x512MB@800MHz.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Mon Dec 04, 2006 2:43 pm

rmmusa, do you have some of the "problematic" extensions installed? A list of these extensions can be found at http://kb.mozillazine.org/Problematic_extensions - If yes, which one(s)?

Fredy, I have a question for you, too: Just to confirm, is iMacros the only extension you installed? And despite the slowdown, does the extension work (= record and replay macros)?
Fredy
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:00 am

Post by Fredy » Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:50 pm

Yes, as i said, fresh installation without any extensions or themes. iMacros seems working fine. But opening bookmarks in sidebar and selecting some just do that slowdown and i must shutdown firefox by force. After uninstalling iMacros, sidebar is working normally and there are no slowdowns.
rmmusa
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by rmmusa » Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:44 pm

[quote="Tech Support"]rmmusa, do you have some of the "problematic" extensions installed? A list of these extensions can be found at http://kb.mozillazine.org/Problematic_extensions - If yes, which one(s)?

Thanks for responding. The extensions I have that are on their list are:

Adblock Plus
All-in-one sidebar
flashblock
Flashgot
ietab
Stumbleupon (disabled)
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:17 pm

Fredy, you said that the problem starts
...when i open sidebar with bookmarks

How do you do this? Based on your description I assume the iMacros add-on is open and everything is ok. So the problem starts when you open the built-in firefox bookmarks? Can you please describe the steps for this in more detail?
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:33 pm

Can you please check what settings you have under iMacros > Edit Tab >OPTIONS > PATH

The path that points to the macro folder should point to a folder where only your macros are stored. If you enter (for example) "c:\" as path, Firefox will freeze because iMacros tries to search the complete hard disk for macros!

Please let us know if this solves the problem.
Fredy
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:00 am

Post by Fredy » Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:52 am

Tech Support wrote:Fredy, you said that the problem starts
...when i open sidebar with bookmarks

How do you do this? Based on your description I assume the iMacros add-on is open and everything is ok. So the problem starts when you open the built-in firefox bookmarks? Can you please describe the steps for this in more detail?
No, iMacros is not open. I start firefox and push Ctrl+B to open bookmarks. First few seconds it's good, but then CPU goes over 50% and firefox is not responding. Now i tried display browser history in sidebar, and there is same slowdown.

I checked paths as you said, but everything is pointing to directory in Document & Settings. So this is not a problem.

I now also tried this on another, much slower computer. There is not fresh installation, Windows are installed a year ago. I disabled all the extensions and themes, installed iMacros, restarted Firefox. Then display bookmarks in sidebar and in a few seconds CPU goes to 100% and firefox is dead...
cuseman24
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:53 pm

adblock plus

Post by cuseman24 » Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:41 pm

firefox seems to crash on me occasionally when i run adblock plus. that could be your issue
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:58 pm

The new release V0.5.0.4 fixes the issues reported in this thread.
rmmusa
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Problem solved

Post by rmmusa » Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:07 pm

Just a followup to my original postings.

The latest version did in fact solve the system slowdown problem.

The added bonus is that Imacros now works for me.

Thanks!
wachtwoord
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:34 pm

Post by wachtwoord » Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:44 pm

Fredy wrote:
Tech Support wrote:Fredy, you said that the problem starts
...when i open sidebar with bookmarks

How do you do this? Based on your description I assume the iMacros add-on is open and everything is ok. So the problem starts when you open the built-in firefox bookmarks? Can you please describe the steps for this in more detail?
No, iMacros is not open. I start firefox and push Ctrl+B to open bookmarks. First few seconds it's good, but then CPU goes over 50% and firefox is not responding. Now i tried display browser history in sidebar, and there is same slowdown.

I checked paths as you said, but everything is pointing to directory in Document & Settings. So this is not a problem.

I now also tried this on another, much slower computer. There is not fresh installation, Windows are installed a year ago. I disabled all the extensions and themes, installed iMacros, restarted Firefox. Then display bookmarks in sidebar and in a few seconds CPU goes to 100% and firefox is dead...

Would you happen to have the all-in-one side bar addon? As I had the same problem and re-installing all add-ons but that one after a total de-installation of all add-ons fixed it for me.

I just didn't know it was iMacros that caused it.
User avatar
Tech Support
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Tech Support » Fri Dec 15, 2006 1:00 am

wachtwoord, please note that V0.5.0.4 fixes the issue. There is no need to uninstall iMacros.
Post Reply