Call me dumb, but I can't make it work.

Support for iMacros. The iMacros software is the unique solution for automating every activity inside a web browser, for data extraction and web testing.
Forum rules
Before asking a question or reporting an issue:
1. Please review the list of FAQ's.
2. Use the search box (at the top of each forum page) to see if a similar problem or question has already been addressed.
3. Try searching the iMacros Wiki - it contains the complete iMacros reference as well as plenty of samples and tutorials.
4. We can respond much faster to your posts if you include the following information: CLICK HERE FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO INCLUDE IN YOUR POST
Post Reply
mk_bulgarion
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:02 pm

Call me dumb, but I can't make it work.

Post by mk_bulgarion » Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:17 pm

Hi guys, and thanks for this little amazing piece of software.
I used the iMacros extension for Firefox and IE to do little page-checks and data extractions with JS + IIM. Now I have to move on, I'm not that amazing programmer, but I know some VB and C# and - to cut it short - I tried with VBS to run macros.
The matter is that I always get the debug error "ActiveX can't create object". It fails even the sample VBS code, using the latest iMacros extension.
I don't know what I'm missing - do I have to run the VBS file from within IE/FF (losing the debugging stuff in the IDE) or do I have to register some kind of component?
Thanks for you support,

Marco
mknoll1
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 4:14 pm

Re: Call me dumb, but I can't make it work.

Post by mknoll1 » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:27 pm

Have you tried reinstalling and\or rebooting? I know this is pretty standard stuff but looking at the easy stuff never hurt.
BrianR
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:13 pm

Re: Call me dumb, but I can't make it work.

Post by BrianR » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:33 pm

Example of a VBScript program. I run this VBScript from a job scheduler, or you can just double click on the .vbs file.

Code: Select all

 Dim iim1, iret
 Dim Name, Number
 
'====================
' Create the Ojbect
'====================
 Set iim1= CreateObject ("imacros")

'=====================
' Initialize iMacros
'=====================
 iret = iim1.iimInit


'======================
' Setup the Parameters
'======================
 Name = "John Smith"
 Number = "515-1212"
 iret = iim1.iimSet("-var_PARM1", Name)
 iret = iim1.iimSet("-var_PARM2", Number)

'====================
' Run the Macro
'====================
 iret = iim1.iimPlay("MacroName")


'====================
' Exit  the Macro
'====================
iret = iim1.iimExit
 
Hope this helps.

Brian
mk_bulgarion
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:02 pm

Re: Call me dumb, but I can't make it work.

Post by mk_bulgarion » Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:58 am

Hi Brian, and thanks for the reply.
I already tried some code examples, the debugger always stopped at CreateObject ("imacros").
Weird stuff, I installed an old Visual Studio that I had from the college, and the C# directive worked out-of-the-box.
Guess I'll use that for my project :P thanks anyway
KingStunned
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 6:53 pm

Myspace Mobsters

Post by KingStunned » Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:04 pm

Hi guys. First and foremost, thank you for the iMACROS. It appears to be a very cool gadget except for 1 thing, I can't get it to work properly. I am trying to set up a imacros for mobsters on myspace. I am running firefox 2.0 and windows xp home sp2. I am trying to go to my bank page, refresh, and deposit money that's been earned. Here's what I get....

RuntimeError: element SPAN specified by TXT:Bank was not found, line 5

All of the demo's and tests work perfectly ,just not what I have created. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Here is the imacros code I made.

VERSION BUILD=6060801 RECORDER=FX
TAB T=1
URL GOTO=http://profile.myspace.com/Modules/Appl ... pId=104283
FRAME F=2
TAG POS=1 TYPE=SPAN ATTR=TXT:Bank
TAG POS=1 TYPE=DIV ATTR=TXT:REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=DIV ATTR=TXT:Deposit
WAIT SECONDS=3300
TAG POS=1 TYPE=DIV ATTR=TXT:REFRESH
TAG POS=1 TYPE=DIV ATTR=TXT:Deposit
sexyarmylego
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 2:52 am

Re: Call me dumb, but I can't make it work.

Post by sexyarmylego » Sat Oct 25, 2008 2:59 am

hey every one add me to your mob please. my myspace email is mattking87@yahoo.com
starahone
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 5:29 am

Re: Call me dumb, but I can't make it work.

Post by starahone » Thu Nov 27, 2008 5:35 am

I CANT GET MY BOT/IMACROS TO RUN PROPERLY EITHER.
I dont know how to do that firefox diagnostic thingy either. ugh. um so frustrated. please someone help ... :?
dharmendra2000
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:28 pm
Location: Ahmedabad
Contact:

Re: Call me dumb, but I can't make it work.

Post by dharmendra2000 » Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:21 am

I CANT GET MY BOT/IMACROS TO RUN PROPERLY EITHER.
I dont know how to do that firefox diagnostic thingy either. ugh. um so frustrated. please someone help ...
Which type of problem you are facing?
Post Reply